Humans logo

She said how about Merlot and Basketball

I said Wine not ?

By J LouisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

A 3rd date was set. This time It was Bee who called me to include me in a plan that she had. Since she knew about how much I enjoyed watching basketball, especially the NBA, she took me to a game where the Los Angeles Lakers came to the state of Florida where I have been living in the last 15 years to play against the Miami Heat, which is her favorite team. She knew I root for Lebron and the Lakers, there was a lot of trash talk, a lot of debating going on about which team was better, which star player was the best at the time. Bee is a big fan of Dwyane Wade and I am probably King James biggest fan in the whole universe. I meant him and Kobe Bean Bryant were the two superstars who got me into watching this game because soccer is all I knew back then where I was born and raised. Bee is half Jamaican and half Dominican and had been all around the Caribbean, she knew exactly what we play and like there.

So we got to the arena early, and had sometimes to get some foods first from one of those food trucks that was around the corner. We both had a few Sandwich, and some extra crispy wings. Being two foodies was another thing Bee and I had in common, plus we loved us some Merlot. I looked at my watch. it was 7:30, game time, and we had already checked in then we took our sit, we were courtside. She had on her Lakers jersey, and I was wearing my brand new LeBron purple and gold Jersey that was gifted to me on my birthday. The whole time all you could see was a lot of laugher, also a lot of standing up and down, screaming and yelling. She was the happiest I have seen her because her team was finally winning a game against my Lakers since way before the late Kobe Bryant called it a career.

After the end of each quarter, I got to hear a lot more trash talk, but for some reasons it sounded real good listening to her bullsh*t. Everything about that woman made my heart smile. Bee knew how to design her own clothes, you could tell she got plenty style, well except when she wore that Miami Heat jersey haha. I told her she needed a LeBron on her and I would get her a few just to mess with her. She looked at me and said "your Jersey is weak and ugly as his skills ", just to get back at me.

Bee was so funny, so was I. I even called her Lady Murphy, you know like Eddie Murphy, she was the female version. It was the nickname I came up with for her after she called me Monico as Monique, the male version of her favorite comedian. We exchanged a lot of jokes all evening, and the good thing is no one got mad, it was all fun, all love between us. Not like the other fans we saw outside getting into some real fight. It was so hilarious, I looked at her and jokily said " Don't even think about it" . She laughed then gave me that serious Karate stare and said "you don't want this smoke", which is a term that many people like myself like to use. It can be used in a fun way, just being competitive, it can also be used to start a conflict.

Bee made sure I was having a very good time even though her team was dominating mine so bad that it was embarrassing, I meant the score was 75-44 at one point. It was not our night, but guess what ? Having her next to me made me feel like I was still winning, and everything felt a little better. She bragged and laughed about the whooping her team Miami Heat was serving, I gave up arguing. I was like " okay you got me this time" haha. I just loved it when she acted like this, this side of her was one of my many favorites. We got way much more comfortable compare to the first two times we went on those date in Paradise and at my residence.

This one date was definitely a great one as well, probably my most favorite of all 3. I never had anyone who called me and said "I want to take you to a game " . No one has ever brought me a ticket to go anywhere before. This one was very special to me, especially it was my first time being at a live game to watch my favorite player in my favorite team. It was a win win situation no matter who took the W. I got to be with my crush not one, not two, but three different times. It was still feeling like a dream to me, but a dream that came true.

She was into sport as much as I was into it. She even played those Playstation EA Sport because that's what we did after the real game was over. While driving back she asked me if I was looking for revenge with my Lakers, I said yeah of course, next time will be my turn. But she meant to come to her place to try to avenge the loss, but only if I could win, she joked again. So I went there and I got to win by 20, there was no pity. Haha trust me she did not want that smoke on that Playstation 2 when it comes to playing NBA2k. I was laughing the whole time and I talked a little trash just like she did to me in the arena during and after watching my Lakers lose. So that's how I got her back, it all fun and game with the beautiful Queen Bee.

More Merlot was served, but this time it was not from my own bottles and glass. She had wines at her place like bottles of water. Bee just knew how to treat herself even if there was no one to do it for her. From the first time we started talking to our 3rd date, the connection between us got stronger and I just knew we belonged together.

dating
1

About the Creator

J Louis

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.