Humans logo

Shambles

Meet the Girls

By HoneyBeePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Shambles
Photo by Andreea Popa on Unsplash

Tick-tock Goes the clock

another minute, second, hour , month, year , day , millisecond till death

Everyday is just another day to my sorrow, my pain , my shame

The world is like a never ending line of disappointments

I can't eat or sleep without my mind wondering

Into the black hole in my head

My mind is the most frightful thing ever

The thing I fear most

Other Than Death…

The Birds outside my window are calling to my attention that there is another day to start.

“Good Morning” , I say to no one in particular. My head is pounding and I don't know why then suddenly a memory comes to my mind. “Shit” , I murmur this curse to myself. “Shit , shit , shit” , again. “How could I be so stupid to forget a day like today” , quickly I grab my cellphone off the nightstand and check it for messages. Sure nought , “See you at 12 babe” , my boyfriend Jake sent this to me along with a winky face. Today is our 3 year anniversary , And I feel like even though we are not married we still celebrate the years we have been together. “ Do I dare look at the clock”, I mumble with the pillow on my head. Slowly I glance at the clock. “SHIT!”, the clock reads 11:15. Great I have less than an hour to not look like complete dog poo. Quickly I scramble to my feet so I could take a 5 minute shower. Walking past my mirror I notice my reflection , there she is the girl who does not look like how I feel. In my world she is an imposter, and in her world I am an imposter. We live in a society where mirrors are gateways into a different world a different realm to us. We call this place “Oppistica” it means “Land of the Opposite". In their world they are our opposites so everything they do, who they are , is opposite to us.

After I showered and ate a quick bowl of cereal, I called Jake.

“Hey babe what's up” , he says in hurried breath.

“Nothing much, I’m already to go over here”

“Ohkay I’ll see you in a lil bit just had to drop my little brother off the soccer practice” he says before hanging up. This is how our conversations always end. We never say “goodbye” or “ see you later” because, goodbye means we will never see each other again , and see you later is not always guaranteed. See here we always think the unthinkable is the law of this world. Here nothing is ever just positive only negative. I’ve grown use to the objectives of this world because I've been living in it for so long. My name Is Chelsea Adams and I'm 17 years old. My Parents Sam and Samantha are both 45. Our world is very strange it's like no other but later on you will understand the things most people will never understand.

“ HONK , HONK “ , I hear the horn blowing outside my window. My mood immediately becomes happy because, I know I'm about to see my boyfriend Jake. He is the only person that helps me not fall into the bottomless pit which is my mind. I’m always trying to escape my mind and the only time I can really do that is when he’s around. Quickly I gather my things and run down the stairs almost falling on my face when my mother catches me. “Be careful honey” , she says in her soft cheerful voice. “Where’s the fire?” , she asked with a smirk. “I’m on my way out to my date with Jake mom don’t wait up !” , I say as I run out the door. Sweet freedom I take a look at the sky and can tell that today is going to be a beautiful day…..if only I really knew.

Kelsea

Beauty and dreams of a twinkling sky

Blue, white, and sprinkles of silver that cover the sky

The night is my friend , The day is my brother

I lay in grass hills with windmills

I wonder , I dream , I fantasize

About the other world and its wonders

About the People so Opposite from me

The aliens they call them

But I just call them “The People”

Another wonderful day on our dear earth. My names Kelsea and I'm 17 years old. I live In the mirror “the people” call my world Oppistica, land of the opposite. But this is true my world is very opposite to theirs. What I call a mom and dad they call two dads. Here the men are the carriers of the children and the women produce the stuff to make babies. Weird I know but it's alright we still have the same parts and look exactly like “the people”. Just have different ways of life. “The People” have rules and live under a person who controls things that they do. We don't have that we are the land of the free and we do mean free. There are no rules here, no bad, no consequence for wrong actions. There is also no crime, what “the people” consider crime we consider cleansing. Sometimes I do not agree with the ways of our world, but I haven't lived in the other world to compare it. I’ve always had dreams about the other world and their ways so different from ours.

I hop out of the bed to sit on my window sill. “Ouch” I stub my toe on the bed frame. I look down and notice the now bloody toe on my foot. “Oh Great now this”. I swear its like I’m cursed with some kind of bad luck. Something bad always happens to me even if i’m having a great day. I stare out the window it's snowing today, which means today I’ll probably go outside with my family. Day’s like this we like to build snowmen and have snow ball fights, just have fun. But today I’d rather stay in the house read a book and drink hot chocolate. Just when I was daydreaming of the perfect day for me my phone rings. Quickly I hop up to run and get it avoiding stubbing my toe again.

“Helloooooooo” , I say dragging the o .

“Hey punk” says a deep voice.

“Hello mi amor” I say in my bubbly voice. It's my boyfriend Yates we have been dating for 3 years.

“What chu doin kel” he says in his baritone voice. I remember the first time I met him and I heard his voice, that voice that turns my insides into liquid. It was always a connection with me and Yates. I still haven't figured out if it's love or just sexual tension. My friends say that i'm crazy because 3 years is more than enough time to figure out that you love someone. I on the other hand think the opposite , you should take all the time you need to figure out if you love someone.

“ I was just thinking how I wanted to spend my day” I say in a soft voice.

“Am I included ? “, he says in a deep sultry voice. Then I knew what I wanted to do today.

“Yes it does and movies and popcorn and hot chocolate” , I say with a smile. It isn't hard, I know what I want to do when it comes to Yates. I just want to be with him all day everyday.

“I’ll be there in 30 minutes”, he says this before hanging up.

“Well see you later too”, I say with a snort. How rude he’s always hanging up before I can say goodbye, oh well. I hop in the shower for a 10 minute thinking , the water is steaming hot. I start to let my mind wander thinking of the day I have planned then suddenly the doorbell rings. Damn I stayed in the shower way too long. I jump out brush my teeth while dressing in my over-sized shirt and some comfy sweat pants. I pull my hair up into a messy bun and pinch some color into my cheeks. Finally I apply mascara before running downstairs to find Yates sitting on the couch waiting. His face slid into a sly smile as he ran his fingers through his hair. I ran and jumped into his lap and gave him the biggest hug and he kissed my cheek. His 5 o’clock shadow tickled against my face and that's how we started our day.

literature
Like

About the Creator

HoneyBee

Writing has always been something I've been so passionate about. In stories we can get lost in a a whole other universe. Each of my stories will take you on a journey you wont soon forget.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.