Humans logo

Seeking the Brighter Future

We all Deserve kindness to make the world a better place.

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
3
Seeking the Brighter Future
Photo by Robin Jonathan Deutsch on Unsplash

Kindness, compassion, generosity, love, charity, and goodness.

Those are the most important things to be a human, in our hearts and souls. It's also part of beauty and nature to us. For years, the world has been overwhelming our lives, including our loved ones, losing our hearts in compassion from generation to generation.

It has been shattered by the darkest atmosphere of detachment, greed, rage, loudness, bigotry, and hate. It also happened about Seven years to six to three years as well.

But, we didn't deserve this. We don't. We all deserve to have more kindness, connection, and compassion every day for our souls and our loved ones. We all deserve to have human rights including our sexual orientation, race, and gender. It's always important to keep our spirits dedicated to Martin Luther King Day and Random Acts of Kindness Day. I'm like others, I only wish that it would never happen during the election in 2016 and the chaotic pandemic from 2019(or even since early 2020). It has been very devastating and uneasy. It is depressing. It has always been exhausting for all of us, restlessness, anxiety, and hopelessness. We all know that the loud and rage had been draining us for so, so long. Many people agree that kindness in our world has been decreasing instantly, like an on and off switch, no matter what good things or bad things are around including our worst fears. It's always important how much we care about people and still show our kindness no matter how deep it is.

From all the pain and wounds I have been through for so long, I have to keep surviving as best I can. I always keep myself hoping and alive with these important words, especially a writer named Brian W. Foster shared his important quote to the Critical Role along with LGBTIQ communities: “Don't Forget To Love Each Other.’ I know I have to keep believing it, but the bad moments like being ghosted, showing my terrible mood swings, having a bad argument, feeling excluded, it’s like there’s nothing meant for me, especially since I’m still struggling to love myself.

One of my best acting coaches, Ms. Cathyrn Hartt, told me: “Remind yourself of the kindness in the world too. There is so much love and kindness and beauty everywhere in the world… You may not convince others but you give support and hope to others who, like you, are trying to hold on.”

I still have some more ideas about what I can do better in the future. I have to stay refocus on the good things, including my daily routines, as my therapists and coaches said. I have to keep thinking about what my goals are that should be shining the light for my community, my family, and my home. Hopefully, the future will be brighter and better in 2022. But listen, it's ok if my goals aren't perfect or if I haven't been succeeding yet. That's ok. It's always been progressing. So, let's get started.

Helping My Family(always)

This is the biggest full-time job I ever have had, it’s more than I used to work at Arby’s for a few years after high school. I've also been working to help my family, mostly my parents and my siblings, since I completed my college years. And yes, I help them while I'm still in school, as well. Eventually, I became an aunt for seven years to four years with these two wonderful kids. Growing up as an aunt is still a hard work. Multitasking is much more as I thought. I was also been like a big sister and a second mother to them. However, being a mother is way too hard for me, because of my intense struggles including my over-stimulated sensory issues and my severe premenstrual disorder. I will have to make sure that they need help with some reading and their homework from their school. I will be their major cheerleader. I will have to make sure my niece and nephew are still healthy and safe.

Support Small Businesses

I have always been very supportive as much as I can since my second college year, and then after that. It's always important to support small businesses. However, it's still not very easy because of all the biggest corporate businesses like Walmart, Costco, Amazon, and McDonald's. And of course, those algorithms from social media that have been drained all of us by big businesses like we don't stand up enough. It’s always been unfair and still frustrating to us. I will do my best to keep support as many small businesses as I can, including all of the amazing artists, creative illustrators, unique jewelry makers, my brother's brewing businesses in Lexington, KY (The Void Sake and Ethereal Brewing), and my sister’s fitness studio(The BarrE) in Mississippi.

Keep Supporting Human Rights! (Always)

Supporting each other is so important. Most importantly is to treat all people of different races, sexual orientations, disabilities, genders, and religions. For decades, discrimination against all of these people has been broken my heart, especially when people kept denying it and said “that's just the way things are.” To be honest-No, it's not! It's not the way it should be, ever. The same issue with those politically incorrect jokes, I felt completely uncomfortable and insecure, inside and out. I will always be supportive to all POC, all Asian and all black businesses, authors, and artists as much as I can. I know it's been so overwhelming because the community and society has been haunted by horrific racism and xenophobia for years.

By Maria Oswalt on Unsplash

I will also keep supporting more LGBTIQ pride communities, including the artists, the advocates, and my friends, to prevent all of the cruelest, heartbreaking homophobic and transphobic policies. I will always keep sharing, including my art pieces, that they deserve love and they are matter.

By Freya WANG on Unsplash

Keep More Awareness Alive and Hope

It has been difficult for me and all women because our minds and bodies have been criticized negatively by society including menstruation cycles, diets, birth control pills, cramps, intense mood swings, and menopause. Also, the worst phrases that kept stigmatized us, ‘oh it's just PMS’, and “you're always so emotional.”After I did well for share my awareness last April 2021, I have to keep sharing awareness in the future, every year of April, from intense premenstrual disorders are PMDD(Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder) and PME(Premenstrual Exacerbation), thanks to the organization IAPMD (International Association of Premenstrual Disorders). About the serious stigma and lack of support, that caused many of us with our devasting consequences including isolation and suicide. We all deserve to support each other, understand each other, look out for each other, and give our hopes together along with our close ones, therapists, and doctors who truly understand us and our intense symptoms.

I know there are so many things to do in 2022. I can't give up. Also, there are some words that my wonderful coaches(Ms Cathyrn Hartt, Alison Lohman, and Katie Gray) and my best two therapists told me that It's good to be compassionate(its good to have sympathy and being emphatic) how much we cared for and it's important to open our voices and feelings to others that we adore(even the things that we are concerned about).

lgbtq
3

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.