Humans logo

Secret Admirer

Hidden agenda

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

It was finally lunch time. I went to the lunch room’s refrigerator and got out a my lunch and walked out of the building, to the beautiful park across the street. There was a slight a slight chill in the air. I strolled slowly on the sidewalk enjoying the lovely trees that were covered with bright orange and red leaves.

It was Fall, my favorite time of the year and tomorrow night was the company’s Holloween party .

I already had my costume, for I was going to be a mermaid. I even had a long red wig that flowed to the floor like the many pictures I had collected.

I had alway been crazy about mermaids and my room when I was growing up was totally decorated as a mermaid’s cave.

I sat down on a park bench and was eating my sandwich when I noticed a postal service delivery truck pull up to my office. That was nothing usual for deliveries came daily all times of the day. Only I had received 2 brown boxes filled with lovely gift of perfume and chocolate candy so I was just wondering if I got another present from my secret admirer. I actually reported them to the police and they actually sent an officer out to investigate.

When I opened the he asked if he may enter and I said yes not knowing I was opening my heart to my destiny.

He explain all the things I could do legally and Ghent cautioned mr to make sure I locked my doors and windows. He was so handsome and even though we were talking casually there was so much attraction between both of us that we just ended up smiling at each other.

I thanked him wishing somehow I would see him again.

Jack was sitting on a bench not far from mine eating his lunch also. He was one of our new employees and was quiet and stayed mostly to himself.

When I finished eating I got up and turn to wave at Jack as I was leaving. He smiled and waved back.

I couldn’t help but wonder if he was the unknown sender of those packages.

I even watch my boss with caution afraid that he was sending them.

When she came back to my desk there was another brown box placed on my desk without a return address.

I turned around just in time to noticeJack watching me from his office desk but he turned away as soon as I looked at him. I rationalized that he was a shy person and not brave enough to do such a thing and smiled back at him.

When the clock hands landed on 5 o clock i grabbed my coat picked up my box and headed for the front entrance.

When they got outside it suddenly started to rain. Not a gentle spring rain but a pouring down after the harvest fall time rain. I didn’t bring her umbrella but jack swiftly covered her with his very professional stylish umbrella, shielding her from the falling rain.

I thanked him and suddenly the policeman who had come to my place drove up and stopped.

Is everything okay, he asked me as he rolled down his window.

Why yes - thank you officer.

A taxi pulled up and the officer sat in his car until I got into the cab and drove

She sat on one side and she sat on the other both looking out their side of the window. The taxie moved slow though traffic. How she lived the busy city and the relaxing sound of the rain pounding on the yellow taxi’s top. There was calmness and she felt secure knowing the officer was watching over

She looked out of the rear back window and Jack was still standing in the rain watching as the taxis turned the corner

As soon as I got inside my cell phone rung and it was my mom.

I didn’t tell her about my secret admirer for she would worry about After I got her off the phone I opened the package and this time it was an expensive silk scarf.

I remember the officer had left his card so I called it. I was connected to his phone and when he said hello and my heart skipped several beats. I thanked him for being there this afternoon and he asked if I want him to call Jack to talk to him.

I assured him that was t necessary.

He told me to be sure to call if anyone showed up at my door that I didn’t know.

That night I couldn’t sleep. It was t the packages but more the thoughts of officer Scott

that lingered in my mind.

When I finally went to sleep I dreamed about him.

I woke up and sat straight up in bed.

I got up to get some water and looked out the window and the policeman’s car was parked outside. I went back to bed and felt secure enough to go to sleep.

The next day the time seem to race by and before I knew it I was taking the final look of myself in my bedroom floor length mirror of me in my mermaid costume.

I walked into the Holloween party like ready to have a good time. I was sitting at a table with Sally one of my co- workers when Jack came over with another person.

He introduced him to me and then he said that this is my friend that has been sending you presents!

I was in shock. His friend said he had seen me at the museum gala a few months ago and wanted to meet me but didn’t know how so Jack had suggested he send me gifts. At that moment I saw Scott come in the door in full police uniform and he came over to our table.

Is everything okay here? he asked.

Why yes I said. I just found out who is my secret admirer. I turn to look at Jack’s friend.

Scott looked at him and looked at me -

Do you want me to take care of this?

Yes- I said. Thank you officer!

He took Jack and his friend aside and they both left the party.

Then Scott came over.

May I talk to you outside?

Of course.

I must admit that I’m not officially on duty but I was concern about you.

I really appreciate that I said to him. To thank cam you come over for dinner tomorrow night?

He stopped and stood there looking at me.

Then he moved close to me and took me in his arms and kissed me.

He got in his car and I went back inside.

I won the award forge most original costume.

When I got home, my cell phone rung and it was Scott. I knew that he was the one I had been waiting for for a very long time!

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.