Humans logo

Plant Addict

The Mailman Stork

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Plant Addict
Photo by Ceyda Çiftci on Unsplash

There comes a time when you know when to stop. I have yet, to come across this time. Every second post, it seems there is an ad about plants. From the beautiful, fractals of nature we call succulents, to the fun loving, bushy tropical plants we all adore to spice up our homes; and every time I see these ad’s, it is like a magnet for my finger to click and scroll through all the colourful, living beauties. You’d think I’d be content with the jungle-like home I already endeavor, but no, it seems I always need the next plant on my list of “Plant Goals”. These ad’s do not help with my plant addiction.

Don’t get me wrong, every purchase has always been one hundred percent worth it. I love every single one of my plant babies, they’re my pride and joy. When one dies, it’s like losing part of the family and I feel like I have failed them. But alas, on to the next plant purchase I go to fill that void. I swear, half my time spent through out the day is scrolling through the excessive ad’s of plants, filling my carts with un-necessaries. Most of the time, I don’t even click the big ol’ “Buy now” button. I just let them sit in my cart until one day I come across it again, add more to the cart, and likely hit that button once and for all. Well, until I come across that ad again.

To think that planting season is only during spring and summer, wrong. I’ve come to learn that it is all year round, whether I like it or not. Just wait until spring does hit, then I am in big trouble. Or more so, my bank account will be. It’s funny cause, as I type this and look down at my phone, its currently on a plant shop that I am always checking for new arrivals. Oh, to be addicted to the green wonders of life. It’s not a bad thing though, it brings me peace, and joy. It calms me when things are tough, it acts as an anti-depressant. I don’t know what it is about getting your hands in some dirt and forgetting about the darkness of the world. Especially in a time like this. And so I scroll on, checking all the ads that come across my screen. Do I have this one yet? Yup. What about this one? Nope, better get it!

I couldn’t imagine a world without plants though, life would be so dull, life would have no color, and what about that fresh air? At least, I am buying into an industry that does some good, unlike most ads that just gouge you for useless materials and senseless, unneeded “things”. I’ve come to wonder, with all the plant babies I’ve accumulated, should I myself sell the little beans? For the most part, I just give them away to family and friends. I feel they are better off as gifts, then money grabbers. Though it would be nice. But furthermore, it’s nice having that package of plants arrive at your doorstep, it’s a joy different from most. It’s as though the mail man is a real life Stork, bringing you babies from across the globe, only they don’t talk and scream, that we can hear, anyway. It gives you a sense of being, feeling, a nurturing for the living things. Opening that package and seeing the little green faces of your new family members, its pure bliss.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.