Humans logo

Passion for People

How a love for cleaning led to a compassionate business

By Nacole TottenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Photo Credit: Beautykleen LLC

"I've lost my husband abroad. I don't know much about what happened after that. I know I've been lying on the couch for hours, and the hours turned into days, and now two years have passed. We have two children and they spend most of their time with their grandparents. So, I guess that's why you're here. My parents finally had enough, so they called DHS."

I listened to Lisa, and my heart shattered. She was grieving. She wasn't deliberately negligent. I don't think I can remember a client who was. They all had an underlining issue: medical, mental health, financial, or loss. The only thing they all had in common was the condition of their homes.

Years ago, I started a small company. My fiancé says it's more of a nonprofit, because I end up spending more on my clients than I make—but that's okay.

In 2012, I sat down at my table and tried to build a business proposal. It was ridiculous because I'm a high school dropout, and I have no clue what goes into one. After hours of trying to figure it out, I turned to PowerPoint instead. I decided to create a presentation of my thoughts and research, and present it to anyone who will listen.

I stayed up for hours finding out...

How many calls are made to DHS a year for environmental concerns?

How does being removed from the home affect a child's mental state?

How is bullying linked to hygiene?

How many fatalities are linked to these homes?

How is learning influenced by an uninhabitable home?

How do mice, bed bugs, and cockroaches affect health?

How does trauma affect parenting ability?

How much does it cost to place children in foster care?

I placed the answers to those questions on my PowerPoint. Then took some old pictures of when I had cleaned for friends, and added them all on a slide.

I called all the Department of Human Services, and asked to speak with the head of social work. I was shocked at how receptive and willing they were to listen.

First, I set an appointment to meet with Adams County, and then Arapahoe County. Soon After, I got a call from Developmental Pathways and Buckley AFB. Eventually, I was contacted by CASA.

The day of my first meeting my nerves were rattled. I loathe public speaking, but I had to fight through. We met in a large conference room, and as I presented there was a mixture of responses. Some social workers leaned forward intrigued, and others eyes went to the ceiling. (I am assuming that the eye-rollers were nearing the end of their career. It was either I was boring or they lost their passion.)

I allowed those who listened motivate me, and when I finished their applause felt amazing. I told them, "Give me one family. One house. I'll do it for free the first time. I'll show you that something can be done besides removing kids." I honestly, couldn't believe they agreed to it.

A few days later, I was at home with a garbage can in the living room, an oil-stained carpet, and cockroaches. They were falling from the ceiling. I couldn't believe it was the first house I was given.

Photo Credit: Beautykleen LLC

The family had made the living room their daughter's bedroom. However, It wasn't much of a room. She was only sleeping in it. I didn't have much money to buy anything. I called so many companies and I asked for help. I called Sherwin Williams and they gave me pink paint. I explained to the clerk what I was doing, and he bought me a couple gallons. Then I was off to Carpet Mill where they gave me scrap carpet and padding. I went to the Dollar Tree for all my supplies. I was overwhelmed with joy when Waste Management gave me a 50% discount on a Bagster.

I recruited my fiancé to help with the job. (At first, he resisted) his heart was great, but even he had his limits. I've never seen an adult man run so fast when a cockroach landed on his shirt collar.

Photo Credit: Beautykleen LLC

The first house took me two days to clean up. When I finished, the social worker came out, and her mouth fell open. They started calling me a miracle maker. I didn't think I was. I'm just compassionate. I like to organize and clean. I have a heart for humanity. I’m moved by my passion and purpose.

Photo Credit: Beautykleen LLC

If I'm given opportunity I would be so happy to change some more lives, while saving the government and taxpayers hundreds of thousands in foster home fees. A little love goes a long way.

Love & Light

Healing yourself is connected with healing others.

Yoko Ono

humanity
3

About the Creator

Nacole Totten

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.