Humans logo

Fight

for love...

By Nacole TottenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Fight
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Jason arrived at Maggiano's first, and soon after, Naomi entered the restaurant. Her smile lit up the place. She shook the rain from her umbrella, and the hostess checked her coat.

Jason's posture went from leaning to straight and his hands trembled. It was crazy how unaffected he had been by beautiful women all day, but when he saw Naomi, she made an impact on him.

Naomi wore his favorite dress, but then again, all she wore was his favorite. The blue wraparound cloth embraced her curves. Her loose black curls fell to the bottom of her back. He silently thanked her for always wearing bright red lipstick.

He had already taken the liberty of ordering her favorite—Calamari and Shrimp scampi. Naomi made her way to him, and he stood to push in her chair. "I see you rented out the restaurant. You're the king of grand gestures.” she chuckled. Naomi's hunger moved her to grab a piece of bread. She shoved it into her mouth.

“Hungry?" Jason asked.

"Ravenous."

"And I am impressed." His eyes trace her frame outlining her with adoration.

"How was your day?"

"It was dry till now."

"You're going to make me blush! Stop looking at me like that."

"Like, what?"

"Like, an eclipse."

"I can't stop Naomi. If only you could see what I see in you."

Naomi's nerves took control, "Now you know I hate when people gush over me.” Her head fell and her cheeks flushed pink with embarrassment.

"Which is what makes me love you."

"I love you, too."

"I know, and that's why I bought you something today."

"Jason, I don't want a present."

"It is not a gift, as much as a token of my love."

"Gift, token, the same thing."

He reached into his jacket and pulled out a little black velvet box. He slammed it on the table like he was playing a heated game of poker.

Her chewing slowed to a halt, "What's that?"

"I want you to be my wife?"

"What?"

"Naomi, I love you and this is not changing."

Her eyes got wet and Rosy. He extended his arms to open it. A large yellow diamond robbed her of her breath.

"You're joking,"

"I’m not much of a comedian."

"Is this just a plot to keep me?"

"That would be both costly and unnecessary. I love you, and you love me. I don't think you're willing to leave me alone. I know I am not gonna leave you."

But we've already talked about this.” she let out a sigh, "The world, and especially your family, is not ready for us."

"You act like we're living in the fifties.”

"I know that we are not." Her head fell, I'm just waiting for the rest of the world to catch up."

"My mother already likes you."

"She tolerates me. It will take her a while to accept this."

"Well, lets hope she still has a while."

"My decision should feel easier than it does."

"So, you don't want to marry me?”

"That's not what I said!"

"Nope, your eyes just went from fire to frozen."

Naomi put her fork down for the first time. She leaned back onto her seat and looked away from him.

"It's okay, Naomi. If you want us to be done, say it. You don't have to get cold. I wasn't expecting a yes, but I was hoping to get one."

“Done? Is that what you think? Do you think I want this to be over?"

"Well, you didn't say yes. I'm sitting here with my heart hanging out of my sleeve." Naomi smirked.

"What is funny?"

“The saying is, wearing your heart on your sleeve.”

He laughed, “Hanging out, on top, falling over, the point is I'm sitting here exposed.

“Touché.”

"I love you with all my heart. I want to make you happy."

Jason got up and went around the table. He stood her to her feet. His eyes got locked into her, and his hand stroked her arm.

"Babe, your proposal feels like I am being drafted."

"Will you fight with me?"

"I do," she shakes her head, "I mean, I will."

His right hand explored. He wrapped her dress's belt around his fingers and tugged at the loose bow, "It is amazing how such thin fabric holds all this together."

"Jason, thank you for loving me, even when people tell you I am not worthy."

"You are more than worthy. I am the one who is lucky."

Just then, the waiter approaches, “Can I get you anything else?"

Naomi sucked in her lower lip and then released it. “Yeah, I don't know about him, but I'm gonna need two glasses of Merlot.”

“Two glasses?” Jason asks.

"Yes, one to celebrate, and the other for courage."

dating
Like

About the Creator

Nacole Totten

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.