Humans logo

Paradise Awakening

How a small journey revealed wisdom.

By Joshua RussellPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
Fish ponds of Molokai, Hi

Life yields many lessons, of which we are all aware and of which, if humility adorns our conscious thought, we are aware of our unawareness of. These lessons may be revealed in a myriad of ways. Some light and easy to understand, some extremely painful and cloaked in the darkness of confusion. Some are taught to us from our wonderful teachers both friendly and foe and can also be wrapped like a gift in a poem, movie or metaphor. This lesson of which I became “aware” took place in one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have ever been.

As I walked along the ancient rock wall into the ocean, I marveled at the derivation and thought, strength and stamina it required to place each boulder in its perfect place in order to withstand hundreds of years of unrelenting ocean waves. Loko i’a, as they are called in Hawaii, are the beautiful and practical stone barriers that were built from a beach or shore in order to facilitate fish breeding and supply the people with sustainable fish year round. These early fisheries were a stroke of architectural and sustainable economic genius. Thoughts of amazement and sheer thankfulness that I was getting the opportunity to come in contact with these stones consistently washed over my awarness like cool refreshing waves on the beach of my mind.

As I carefully and methodically walked further out, a wonderful and edifying lesson came to me with regards to souls that come into our experience. This lesson continuously expanded and unfolded with each intentional step I took. While I cautiously moved across the sometimes rigid stones, I choose to “introduce” my foot to the rock and get a feel of who it was. In one particular moment I found an intolerable stone. It was pointed at it peak with jagged pukas on the surface. This provoked a gray vision in my mind and a flash of a person I had met in my past that was quite abrasive and unpleasant to be around. The memory further unfolded with the emotion that I choose to have when I was to be around this person. Which was a feeling of impatience and timidity. Both being undesirable feelings I most naturally wanted to avoid this hard person. Just as soon as this memory and feeling came in, it was gone when I took my next step. The next stone was large and appeared to be very smooth and therefore desirable to place my “trust” in to let support me. As I transitioned bits of energy into minute muscle contractions in order to shift weight, I noticed that the rock was starting to roll and was actually unstable in its current circumstances. Again a gray vision moved into my consciousness like a hasty fog in a windy harbor. This thought was about a person in my life that appeared very trustworthy and built to handle not only their own existence but could easily support a healthy relationship as well. I quickly found this not to be the case. This person was shifty and had not found their resting point of balance and stability among others. This in turn sparked feelings of distrust and repulsion. Shifting my weight from this stone back to a solid one was almost a reflex due to sudden shifting and balance acquisition. It felt like this was the dominating feeling of the vision as well. I kept moving forward with excitement for my next vision and I came across a stone that was high enough to be out of the water and low enough to have salty ocean roll over it with passing waves. This stone I realized was covered with salt water snails and a smooth film of algae and micro plasm. Although this stone was quite stationary, it was very difficult to place my balance with. I noticed that only upon placing my weight directly above my feet and in center, with very little movements or shifting, was I able to achieve stability. If I stayed still this stone would have been accepting and willing to support me. But once I shifted or moved in a way that was not conducive for perfect traction, it did nothing in the way of keeping me upright. Some stones were very apparent in their inability to support me, thus I choose not to have them undertake the job of supporting me. I just thanked them for being in my life and let them leave peacefully. This became a sort of meditation. Moving slowly with intention across this rock wall out into the ocean. Slow methodical steps with thoughts to match. There were however many stones upon which I could place my unwavering trust. These stones came in all shapes and sizes and were pleasant to be with. They knew who they were and what their place and purpose is. I quite literally thanked them for all they provided. Even thought these stones were quite desirable, I knew that I was not done with my journey. I chose to keep moving. When I chose this I realized that I would be leaving the stones that I had let touch my life in a wonderful way. And I realized that they were in my life for a reason and I lovingly released them from my experience. This was at times, more challenging than others. Bright visions of laughter and happiness, supportive tears and hugs and great accomplishments splashed through my mind. The people in my life I trust most and love the deepest are still living their best life, but currently outside of my immediate experience.

All together I placed a certain gratefulness and appreciation upon my quick journey on the rock wall. It gave me a chance to slow my thoughts and place focused concentration upon the task in that specific moment. I love the quote from Kung Fu Panda, “yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift. That’s why it is called the present.” Master Ugway

It also allowed me to metaphorically see the stones as people that have come into my life. Some were trustworthy enough to place my weight on and I could trust them knowing they had love and support for me. Others appeared to be trust worthy but were unbalanced themselves, thus could not support a reciprocal relationship of love and respect. And some where very blatant and obvious with their facade and let me know with certainty that I would choose another path in which to avoid contact with them. All stones gave me the ability to learn a lesson as with ever person that appears in our lives. And when the time is right the powers higher then us shift and people drift from our immediate experience. I am grateful for all of them.

“When the student is ready the teacher will appear”. “Learn the lesson or relive the lesson”. These are just simple life quotes from my mentor and friend Kevin who has dedicated his life to helping others unlock the brilliance of their own power within.

Thank you for reading. I hope you are “in-spirit” with my message and it opened new doors of awakening that make your life and experience a little brighter and a little more desirable. Be blessed.

I apologize

Please forgive me

I love you

Thank you

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.