Humans logo

Our Path

My promise

By Hallie JonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

My fingers began to numb. They would be the first to go. Still, I couldn’t loose my grip on her. I had to hold her tight. To let her feel that everything was going to be okay.

Each snowflake was thrown harshly in my face without any resistance. Mother Nature was a cruel, savage mistress and I had a bone to pick with her. Why would she choose this day to let a blizzard slow me down? The day I chose to escape. The day I would find freedom for me and my new born daughter.

But I wouldn’t let her stop me. Even if it seemed the whole world was against me at the moment. I would stay strong. For my daughter. Because I would be damned if I let that vile, lawless man do to her what he did to me. And if I had stayed, one day he would.

Forcing a woman to lay with you was an abomination. Funny, that’s the word he used to describe his own daughter. I put up with his sadistic ways for far too long, but the day I was pregnant with her I knew the moment she was born I was going to give her a new life. One without a lifetime of servitude and abuse.

“This way!” I heard a man call out in the distance behind me. Of course they would come after me. This I already knew. If I wasn’t fast enough, one way or another I wouldn’t make it to freedom. Either I enter deaths sweet embrace or I am captured. And I shall not wish to know what the penalty is for an attempted escape.

I had to be quick. I had to make it past the boarder. I would be safe there. And I wasn’t far. The thought of a new life, free of the curse of the white man was enough to keep me going.

It wasn’t long before my nose went numb and my arms began to give. But I would not give up. I am not weak, I am stronger than they say. True strength is not determined by stratum or gender but is determined by your tenaciousness and perseverance.

“Over here!” I heard another voice yell through the trees. Any moment now they would find me. Any moment now I would be mercilessly beaten. And it would all have been for nothing. I stopped for a moment contemplating how much longer I would live. My eyes felt painful to close but when I opened them I was glad I did. I saw a soft glowing in the distance ahead. A light. Hope.

I continued my journey to find the light. I could get there. I could make it. It got closer and closer. I came upon a fence and a shoveled walkway. This was property. But owned by whom? The light appeared to be a lantern lighting up a small worn down barn. I got to the door and stopped. What now? Do I go in?

“Don’t be afraid,” a calming voice said beside me. It was a white barn owl. Maybe I was delirious from the cold. Yeah, that was it. “If you go inside there will be no turning back.” He spoke again.

“What’s waiting for me on the other side?” I asked, my breath turning to a cloud.

“That I can not tell you. But don’t be afraid,” he said. I opened the door and saw the black abyss. It was dark and scary. I stepped forward full of fear and dread for what was to come. But all I felt was warmth and calmness. I looked back and saw my body collapsed into the snow and dark figures making their way to me. I turned back around and continued forward. This was the right decision. This was the only way to be truly free. This was my path. Our path.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.