Humans logo

Ordinary but not ordinary

What kind of people are we surrounded by? You may answer: are students, are teachers

By DelorisPowersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ordinary but not ordinary
Photo by Artem Labunsky on Unsplash

What kind of people are we surrounded by? You may answer: are students, are teachers, are white-collar workers, are doctors, are soldiers ...... Or you may say: are lively people, are optimistic people, are persistent people, are people who keep their promises ...... It seems that, in our first impression, everyone is ordinary and common people. If someone says on the street that he or she is a hero, a great man, it will instead make us feel that we are talking big. But when you think about it, what is ordinary? What is ordinary? Why are we surrounded by people who are not a hero, who are not great men?

Today, I would like to talk about my grandmother in our neighborhood - an ordinary, yet an extraordinary person.

I have loved small animals since I was young, and I am very interested in pets like cats and dogs. Before I had a pet at home, my biggest hobby was going to the small parks in my neighborhood and playing with the small dogs and cats there. However, my parents were always worried that these small stray animals might have infectious diseases and would not let me have contact with them. I had to resist the urge to touch their soft fur and "communicate" with them every time. The animals are also very clingy and like to turn around at my feet and "meow-" or "woof woof woof" from time to time. I sat on a stone bench by the park's small lake, watching the swaying leaves, the ripples in the water, and the distant scenery with the afternoon breeze.

While I was feeling comfortable, the small animals at my feet ran away. I looked over to where they were running, and a grandmother was walking with her back bowed, slowly and with small steps. "Why are all these animals walking towards the old man?" Watching the animals run away, my heart was a little lost, but I still, intend to ask some questions. That's how I got to know the grandmother.Grandma told me that the stray cats and dogs in the yard were not taken care of, and each cat was almost skinny, while the dogs had to rummage through the garbage for food. She felt sorry for these animals, so she used her pension to buy some cat food and dog food and came to feed them every afternoon. "I don't have a lot of money either, and I can't afford to buy fancy things." Grandma spoke, "I found some small plates at home that I didn't use and bought some cheap things, just to help them." Grandma walked over to a small, somewhat old bowl, carefully squatted down, and refilled the food. "Alas, my body bones are also old, everyday legs and feet are not flexible, eyes are also a little flowery, condescending to them ......" looking at the grandmother's mobility, listening to her words, I feel a little hard. "Grandma, I love these small animals, I, I may be able to help." Grandma looked at me, smiled kindly, and said, "Children, it's not that simple. Speaking of which, it's been seven years. Every day to focus on them, and take care of them. You ah, still small that ...... go play, do not have to pay too much attention to me ...... "For some reason, I feel a grandmother's responsibility to take care of these stray animals, and the care for me. Seven years as a day, to do the daily persistence, meticulous care ...... I unconsciously some out of mind.

Back home, I thought about it, I may have always had a love for animals, but if I talk about responsibility, can I do it? Seven years, how long is it? What kind of persistence does it take to keep doing something? When I think of the elderly Grandma using her not-so-rich pension and all her efforts to take care of those small animals, how is this not a great performance?

Ordinary and extraordinary are not opposite in meaning, right?

love
Like

About the Creator

DelorisPowers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.