Humans logo

Ophiuchus

The 13th zodiac sign

By Brooke HashPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Ophiuchus
Photo by Andy Holmes on Unsplash

Most of my life I considered myself a Sagittarius. Born on December 10th, I love an adventure, a well-placed joke, and deep discussions just as one could expect from the sign. However, there were some characteristics that didn’t really match how I am. Sagittarius tends to be lackadaisical, bored with details and serious matters. They also don’t like clingy people and are difficult to pin down into a committed relationship. These traits have never matched me. I found myself in a predicament were I liked the idea of astrology, but I couldn’t fully support who they said I should be.

Then, a couple years ago, I learned of the 13th sign, Ophiuchus. Ophiuchus is the only sign represented by a human. While not as cool as a centaur archer, I felt a little unique learning this about my newfound sign. The man is entangled by a serpent he’s at war with, and for this reason, Ophiuchus is considered the snake bearer, originally called Serpentarius. Society removed the sign from the astrological chart to match our twelve month calendar, but in my opinion, they shouldn’t have. The removal of the sign created a shift in the zodiac dates and causes some people to have signs they don’t fully relate to, as I did. When I learned about the traits of Ophiuchus, I felt I had finally discovered the sign I truly was. I felt maybe astrology did have some real connection and meaning to the world. For this reason, I’ve become a supporter of the original zodiac chart consisting of all 13 signs.

Now for those of you unfamiliar with my sign, Ophiuchus lands between the dates of November 30th to December 17th. We’re considered a mix between a Scorpio and a Sagittarius, taking in the bad and the good of both. Depending on your opinion of each sign, that’s a cocktail for something amazing or disastrous. I like to think of it as a good thing, evening out both signs in the mix, but who doesn’t want to see themselves in a positive light?

An Ophiuchus shares the passionate and adventurous traits of a Sagittarius, which I think are positive and me. However, we’re also blunt and stubborn like the Sagittarians. If you ask anyone who knows me, I definitely carry those traits as well, which can be both good and bad. Some people appreciate my honesty while others think I’m sometimes mean and inconsiderate when I’m brutally honest with them. My straightforwardness comes from values of honesty and rational. However, I carry a sensitive side like a Scorpio. Therefore, I feel empathy and apologize if I ever offend or hurt. As for the stubbornness, it’s doomed to stay thanks to both signs. I’ve been called stubborn, tenacious, persistent, and told I should be a lawyer due to my strong-will. That’s definitely on the con list to some for the Ophiuchus traits.

When it comes to the Scorpio traits, Ophiuchus shares their calm and thoughtful demeanor. We’re mysterious and simultaneously passionate and aggressive like the Scorpio. As a person who relates to this, let me tell you, it’s not as bad as it sounds. We cherish love and passion, and we’ll share it with you if you manage to capture our devotion, and we really do devote. However, if you hurt us in any way, you will be met with a very angry Ophiuchus, our gentle manner turning cold. For me, I am very caring and attentive in a relationship, but if you hurt or offend me I can bite back like the snake, and my words will sting as I get under your skin by any way I know how. That said, thankfully Ophiuchus is a very tolerant sign. It takes a lot for us to snap, and while we can hold a grudge, we also can’t help but remember all the good and therefore, we tend to ignore any negative feelings.

Speaking of negative feelings leads me to the point that we bear our burdens. We will go through hardships and negative feelings alone, rarely sharing them. It’s not that we don’t want to open up; we just don’t want to be a burden. Even if someone is willing to help me, I won’t ask for help. A few months back, I ended up in the hospital. When asked if I needed to call anyone, I auto-replied, “no.” My family learned, to their dismay, of my hospitalization from my roommate, not me. I don’t want to put a damper on someone’s day or owe any favors. Additionally, I enjoy independence and knowing I achieved success all on my own, even though you’ll never hear me brag about my achievements thanks to the humility trait of an Ophiuchus. As a helpful hint though, we will share achievements and burdens, but you have to ask and care for us to share.

So, if you can’t already tell, Ophiuchus is a complex entanglement of two signs that, at times, are opposite. This leads to Ophiuchus varying with their mood. We’re generous yet indifferent, loyal yet hesitant. We’re a calm, thoughtful group of people who are kind and loving to those who treat us well and cold to those who don’t. Whether good or bad, all these traits define an Ophiuchus, and an Ophiuchus defines me.

The zodiac including the 13th sign

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Brooke Hash

I studied English and creative writing, and now I spend my free time writing novels and articles. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.