Humans logo

Open Letter to My Ladies

The bond we have surpasses all lifetime.

By WritingOfTheHeart™️Published 3 years ago 5 min read
7
Mother and her daughters - Google Photos

I write this open letter in your names today;

Where shall I begin? How shall I introduce you?

There is so much I’ve learnt from you and a little bit of you has resided in me,

You have all made me the woman I am today, and for that I am ever so grateful to you all.

-

There are three special women in my life,

I maybe a wordsmith when it comes to pen and paper,

But in reality I am unable to express these words face to face.

-

The first woman represents and inspires me to be elegant, patient and graceful, she is my classy mother,

The second woman represents and inspires me to be a giver, caring and loving, and she is my eldest gorgeous sister,

And the third woman represents and inspires me to be pure, confident and aspirational, and she is my beautiful second eldest sister.

Soul Sisters - Google Photos

Dear Ladies,

You have all lived and continue to live life to the fullest,

No matter what obstacles and hardships came in the way,

You faced them all, head-on.

Yes, there were heartbreaks and breakdowns along the way, tears we shared among each other,

Yes there were sorrows you kept hidden, not wanting to dampen the mood of others around you.

But you all preferred to share your happiness and joy to keep the home in high spirits.

Yes, there were scarifies you made towards your dreams and aspirations,

Stressed you took on so the others don’t have to,

But yet we always, all come together, listening to mum’s childhood stories ,

And teaching us right from wrong,

We constantly continue to play and laugh together,

Having to endure the sound of my older sister singing the classics (LOL) ,

And my second sister breaking the dance floor (in a good way) every time her song comes on,

And then our mum always joins in, dragging the shy me along.

All three off you are strong, elegant and fearless like the ocean, in your own individual way.

Daughters admiring her mother’s elegance - Google Photo

Dear, Mum your are the definition of the saying;

“behind every good man is a good woman”

You moulded our father into the best father for us,

You taught us how to accomplish our dreams,

You fought against the cultural norms that prevented us from living and dreaming,

You stood by us like a lioness, danced with us, sang with us and dreamed with us.

And my sisters I truly believe that we will live up to this definition, as we are our mothers’ daughters.

Big Sis, Middle Sis, Little Sis - Google

My dear eldest sister, you are the definition of a caring person and a giver, you always spoiled us

And never ask for anything in return, constantly going out of your way to make everyone feel special.

You always protected us never letting anyone hurt or bully your younger siblings, yet you also try to toughen us up, everyday.

You are the strongest of us, but also the softest of us all.

-

My dear second eldest sister, you are the definition of confidence and honesty,

You always speak your mind, truthfully and confidently, you are who I come to for advise, you are who I always end up opening up to.

And you are the life of our family, I truly adore being in your presence, as you bring laughter and joy into my life.

Your heart is pure and fearless, yet deep down you care for those who are close to you.

Letters ~ Google

I’ll end this open letter with a poem I’ve written dedicated to all the women and future women of the world.

-

The Depths of a Woman

A woman is vast, deep and ever-changing like the great ocean,

Her love embraces us like the oceans waves,

Her whispers is like the sounds of soft waves hitting the shore, bringing us home,

And when she is sad, all that surrounds her dulls like the reflection of the grey clouds dulling the oceans light.

Her presence is like the peace and calmness felt at the oceans bay on a starry night,

Her anger and pain roars like the oceans tornado, in order to protect her loved ones,

Her strength is like that of the ocean fire, extinguishing her enemies, so fearlessly,

And when she smiles, it sparkles like how the ocean sparkles in the Sun’s warm rays, resembling diamonds.

A woman is a blessing to the world, like the ocean is a blessing to the dry lands,

Her presence is warm like the ocean on a sunny day,

Her laughter sounds like the playful waves that surfers chase,

Just like the ocean continues to give and asks for nothing in return,

She too gives unconditionally,

And when all comes to an end she will stand strong and surpass all obstacles,

Just like how the ocean surpasses all, in testing times.

She is a woman,

I am a woman,

We are women.

Strong, Caring and Fearless like the ocean.

We have layers upon layers of characteristics, just like the unexplored layers of the oceans,

And yet you will never be able to reach the depths of a woman

Just like you will never be able to reach the depths of the ocean.

~ WritingOfTheHeart™️

Strong Women - Google photos

If you enjoyed my letter to the women of the world, then please hit the heart, give a tip if you can and share it with all the women of the world.

family
7

About the Creator

WritingOfTheHeart™️

S. Adina

MSc Psychology

Writing is therapeutic, creative & passionate.

I only write that which is in my heart (hence the name) some will connect & some will not. Don’t let that stop you from

writing.

Instagram: @WritingOfTheHeart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.