Humans logo

On The Floor

Off The floor

By Sharon KoehlerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I don’t particularly have a lot of regrets in my life, not that I am perfect by any means but at my age, you have to learn how to cope with the mistakes you made and move on. However, I do have one truly embarrassing moment that I do laugh about now mostly because it’s a decade old and well, I can’t change it so laughing about it is the only thing to do.

I used to work for a very small construction/remodeling company as a cabinet designer and office manager. One night I was working late on a customer’s project. Everyone else had gone home. I was alone in the office. My boyfriend at the time dropped by with dinner. He was considerate that way and we ate in the showroom and watched the twilight turn to darkness through the wall of windows at the front of the building. This had happened before when I was working late, no big deal.

After dinner, we walked back into my office so he could get his jacket. He asked me how much longer I would be. I told him about 90 minutes. He asked me to call him when I got home. I agreed. He put his jacket on, kissed me goodbye, walked out of my office and down the hall toward the back door. Here again, nothing unusual. Just the same old, same old. I sat back down behind my computer and started working on the customer’s project.

Just then my boyfriend popped back into my office. Startled at first, I stood up. He walked over to me and kissed me again. Then he kissed me again and again. All of a sudden I realized that we were not kissing goodbye. We were kissing for a completely different reason. Truthfully, I hesitated at first but then I mistakenly put my fears in the back of my mind. I decided it would probably be fun and just a little naughty.

After we started doing some of the things that lovers do before it gets serious, he went out into the showroom and grabbed all the sofa and chair pillows. He brought them back into my office and laid them down on the floor in front of my desk. So, there we were, on the pillows, on the floor, doing exactly what lovers do (and having fun) when right at what I would call a crucial moment, the hall lights came on and I heard my boss calling my name.

My boyfriend jumped up and with more clarity than I had he quickly but silently closed and locked my door. Then, he pulled me off the floor, went and stood behind the door all the while pulling his jeans on. I pulled my shirt and jeans on. (no bra or underwear.) I stuffed my bare feet into my shoes. I ran my fingers through my hair just as my boss was trying my doorknob. I told him to hold on, that I was on the phone. My boyfriend ran around at sat down on the floor behind my desk.

I opened the door looking as presentable as I could. My boss explained to me that he had left his wallet on his desk and he came to pick it up because he and his wife were having a late dinner out. He had seen my Jeep in the lot so he knew I was here. Then, very seriously, he questioned me about the locked door and the pillows on the floor. I explained, in the most non embarrassed voice I could muster that the door was locked for security and my safety in case someone broke in while I was working alone in the office and that the pillows were on the floor because I had been sitting too long and my back had started to hurt. The sofa was too soft and the floor was too hard and I was just trying to find a way to stretch my back out a bit. I don’t know if he believed me or not. He didn’t say. All he did was give me some advice. He told me I should go home, take a couple of aspirin and put some heat on my back.

After we were sure he was gone, my boyfriend came out from behind my desk. We silently finished getting properly dressed. He barely kissed me on the cheek and sprinted out the door reminding me as he was going to call him when I got home. As it turns out, I didn’t have to. He was in my driveway when I got home. He thought, and rightfully so, that we might need a drink or two after what had happened. The Jack Daniels had never tasted so good.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.