Humans logo

Old Shoes

Get them new Comfortable when they get old.

By James SimsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo taken Old shoes.

How many times in your life have you been in love? I am even talking about the puppy love crushes you had as a young kid in school.

I have been there a few times as a kid, and I remember feeling so good just thinking about the girl I was in love with and sleep? Sleep was not an option. When I tried sleeping when I had a new girlfriend nothing could stop her from invading all aspects of my life, bedtime, mealtime, school, even when I had to pee.—still walking around with a What the??? look on your face. Yep, the early stages of love.

Cloud nine? What was that I was floating on air. Nothing could make you feel sad, mad or bad,

It is kind of like that new car smell. You just bought a brand new car. All new vehicles are the same when it comes to the fresh car smell. It is like you raised your status in life. Then the fresh car smell wears off.

But you still love that car—the same with loving a woman. Te newness isn't as fresh, but the intenseness of your feelings do. I know sometimes the emotional level of it doesn't feel the same, and that is when you start the "What the???" and things get confusing because you still want that new car smell. But I have news for you, like that package you open and what comes out never goes back in the same.

That is love.

Now is what I call the midterms of your relationship because this is where your marriage or any committed starts getting tested. THE comfortable is not quite the stage your at, but it seems the hot fiery passion appears to have burnt down to a smaller fire.

Things you do that got your partner all kinds of excited now only get a little acknowledgment, and then you stop doing the things that used to work and start trying other things that might but usually don't work and you scratch your head and think "Why

the???"

Old shoes, comfortable nothing to surprise you, reliable. That is the description of the later part of a marriage. And more times than not, it becomes the beginning of the end. There are steps to avoid this.

Date night is a good step. Make a plan to have a date night every week. And make sure it happens. No excuses to get out of it, you do this, and I promise your relationship will be better for it. Spontaneity is a great equalizer for the boredom of the old shoe syndrome. Take your partner in the bedroom for some afternoon delight out of the blue. I know you will like it and I promise that your partner will be thinking WOW. Cook dinner without being asked, do some chores that you usually don't do. Don't just take for granted that she is going to be there to do for you. If you take her or him for granted one day, he or she won't be there anymore, and you will be standing scratching your head saying"What the???"

The conclusion of this article is Be there, do all you can, and never take your spouse for granted because, in the end, you will be the loser. And it hurts. For no effort at all you can have a real loving till death, do you part relationship if you remember to treat with respect, love kindness and forgiveness. A little tenderness goes a long way.

And you can never stop saying and shoeing I LOVE YOU we all need to hear it and feel it.

Sincerely James Sims

advice
Like

About the Creator

James Sims

Hello, I am James Sims, a Retired welder due to a handicap caused by Arthritis in my neck I have lost A big part of my person when that happened. I am ready to go fishing and spend today fishing. Now I am trying to publish my story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.