Humans logo

Old Enough: Surviving Summer Adventures

Embrace the Season with Dancing Feet and Fun

By Sarah DanielPublished 24 days ago 3 min read
1

Morning Rituals and Warm Biscuits

Every morning starts with the comforting aroma of biscuits, eggs, and crispy bacon, courtesy of Pearl. She makes the kitchen come alive, and her presence fills my day with warmth and joy. Watching her cook, I can't help but feel a pang of envy and admiration.

Pearl isn't just preparing breakfast; she's creating moments of happiness and normalcy. As she pours me a glass of cold milk, she stands over me, gently insisting I drink it all. Her ability to make the hard things seem easy and the not-so-good days feel okay makes me wish she were my mom.

Admiring Pearl

Pearl is everything I aspire to be. Her clean, trimmed nails with a shiny gloss, her full, plum-like lips, and her big hazel eyes make her the epitome of beauty in my eyes. She always wears tiny gold studs in her ears, something I long for, though the thought of a needle piercing my ear still terrifies me. Instead, I dream of owning a pair of tap shoes. Pearl laughs when I talk about my dancing dreams, calling me her "happy feet" because I can never keep my toes still.

Read More: The Mystery Behind Ebrahim Raisi’s Fatal Helicopter Crash

Dancing Dreams and Paw-Paw's Porch

After breakfast, I often show Paw-Paw my latest dance moves on the porch while he enjoys his pipe. Pearl busies herself with chores, like washing sheets and reminding me of the dust bunnies under my bed. Despite my fear of hobos and the unknown lurking under the bed, my fascination with the railroad never wanes.

Meeting Hank the Hobo

Hobos have always intrigued and scared me, but I became friends with a man named Hank. He'd greet me cheerfully, lifting my spirits with his calm demeanor. Hank seemed to change whenever I was around, masking his sadness with a smile.

I knew he was hungry, so I started bringing him biscuits. Our friendship blossomed as I shared my dancing moves to cheer him up. Despite his tough life, Hank always made me feel like I was doing something meaningful.

Pearl's Watchful Eyes

Back home, Pearl always seems to know where I've been. She hoses me down and stares at me, trying to figure out my adventures. Despite her stern looks, she leaves me and Paw-Paw our favorite dessert, whipped cream, and orange jello. I hug her tightly before she heads home, promising myself to follow her more closely this summer, not out of trouble, but out of curiosity.

Evening Performances

Late at night, after Paw-Paw has finished his supper, I sneak out to perform a makeshift tap dance for him. His laughter and joy make my heart swell, confirming that summer is off to a good start. As I slink back to bed, I can't help but wonder where Hank might be now—Memphis, Baton Rouge, or maybe New Orleans.

I say a silent goodnight to Hank and Pearl, wiggle my toes one last time, and fall asleep with a smile, dreaming of another day filled with biscuits, dances, and friendships.

This summer, filled with Pearl's warmth and Hank's unexpected friendship, is shaping up to be one of the best yet.

FAQs

Why does the narrator wake up early?

The narrator wakes up early to enjoy Pearl's delicious breakfast of biscuits, eggs, and bacon, which she looks forward to every morning.

What does Pearl's morning routine include?

Pearl's morning routine includes cooking breakfast, making coffee for Paw-Paw, and ensuring the narrator drinks a big glass of cold milk.

Why does the narrator admire Pearl?

The narrator admires Pearl for her beauty, kindness, and her ability to make difficult days feel better and more manageable.

Who is Hank the hobo?

Hank is a friendly hobo whom the narrator befriends, bringing him biscuits and cheering him up with her dancing moves.

What does the narrator dream of owning?

The narrator dreams of owning a pair of tap shoes to pursue her passion for dancing, inspired by her happy feet.

How does Pearl react to the narrator's adventures?

Pearl often gives the narrator a hard stare, trying to guess where she's been, but still leaves her favorite dessert as a treat.

What is the significance of dancing in the story?

Dancing brings joy to the narrator and Paw-Paw, providing a moment of happiness and connection amidst their daily routines.

Recommended Readings:

Why Divorce from Justin & Who Is Jennifer Dating Now?

What Happened to the Teen Who Died After the 'One Chip Challenge'

humoradvice
1

About the Creator

Sarah Daniel

Writer, blogger, activist. Blog, Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran23 days ago

    Hey, just wanna let you know that this is more suitable to be posted in the Fiction community 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.