Humans logo

O'Connell Bridge - Pt. 11

Christian lite - fiction

By Dub WrightPublished 5 years ago 6 min read

“I guess I need two weeks off starting June 25.” LC sat in the Human Resources office at New Hanover Medical Center. “I’ve been sending apps for grad school but haven’t had an acceptance yet. So, I suppose when I come back from my trip, I will be available to reassume my duties at the ER—North.”

The Human Resource officer looked over LC’s paperwork. “You’ve been an orderly for nearly three years here with very good reviews, so there is every reason for us to attempt to continue your employment after your leave. But, because you work only 32 hours per week, you are considered part time. I know that’s because you’re in school; however, we have to consider the needs of the hospital. Rest assured, if a position is available when you return, you will be the first choice; after all, you are fully trained and highly skilled and experienced. And, you have flowery reviews.”

LC felt flattened. “So, essentially, I will be terminated when I go on vacation.”

The personnel officer smiled. “Not terminated, but your job will simply go open. So, when and if you apply for employment elsewhere, you do not put terminated on the application. Simply put part time employee. All HR people understand.”

“I see.”

“Mr. Brennan. New Hanover Regional Medical Center is always looking for qualified individuals. If you come back to me after your vacation, I can almost, let me emphasize the word almost, guarantee that there will be a slot for you; indeed, we could use several qualified orderlies as I speak.”

“That’s reassuring.”

She continued. “I’m looking at your current work schedule and your regular pay period ends when you clock out Saturday morning. Then the new pay period begins Sunday morning. You normally have Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday nights off, so, lets make Monday night/Tuesday morning your last physical day as you have a comp day coming, and we make Tuesday/Wednesday your comp day in the new pay period. Otherwise, you would normally have Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday off only to come back in on the night of the Friday the 24th. It’s only one day you’ll miss extra, the 24th, and it should help you prepare for your trip. And you really only miss the pay for a lost day of the paid period by having that paid comp day in the final pay period.”

LC looked over the figures she was holding out to him. “Okay, I see what you mean.” He stood. “Thank you. Let me make sure I have this all in my head correctly. It appears I will leave NHR and head on vacation after my shift on the 21st of June. Although I get paid for the 22nd and, as I understand it, I can reapply for my job when I return on or after the 5th of July; and that there is a chance, make that a good chance, I will find an opening.”

The HR officer stood and extended her hand. “Enjoy your vacation. I’m really envious. Going to Ireland, how cool is that? I hope you have a wonderful time. And thanks for giving us so much notice. Mr. Brennan, my guess is you are going to find the grad school of your dreams and come back to us some day as a top surgeon.”

LC smiled. “Thanks for the kind thoughts. Those, indeed, are my goals.” He exited the office feeling good about the meeting and filled with trepidation, “Shish, I just quit my job.”

“You’re a nitwit,” Mike shouted into the phone.

“I’m going to go on the trip, Mike, and I currently only work part time anyway. Plus, she told me that there would probably be a job for me when I get back. She appreciated me giving notice, although it’s not really required for part timers.”

“Okay, you’re a nitwit twice. First for going on this magical mystery tour sponsored by probably a swamp timeshare salesman and secondly you quit your only source of income. Don’t expect me to pay your rent or make your truck payment. You better tell your roommates they have to carry the load. I wouldn’t blame them if they threw your stuff in the street on the first of July, and don’t expect to come live here. Brenda would put a rattlesnake on your truck seat and one in your bed.”

“Thanks brother, I appreciate your support.” LC clicked off and flopped down on his bed. He had an hour before he had to crash. The apartment building was empty. He looked at the last text, “Trust me.”

The shift at the ER was unexciting; one shooting, two wrecks, two heart attacks, one stroke, half a dozen sick people, and one overdose. He went through the motions, did his work, and signed out at 5:30 AM. He sat in his truck in the parking lot feeling empty. His trip to Waffle House was interrupted only by stoplights on Market Street.

“Why so glum, Liam?” An overly cheerful Suzi greeted him when he passed through the entrance.

“I may have just flushed my life away. I decided to chase a mystery dream, I’ve quit my job, well in a few weeks, I’m headed to Ireland for whatever reason, and when I come back, I have nothing to come back to. Even my brother says not to call him when I get back.”

Suzi leaned on the counter. “I’ll be here.”

LC grinned. “You’re the only consistent thing in my life.”

She took out her pad. “If you were 20 years older, or I was 20 years younger, I would take you home immediately.”

“You’re sweet. And, this morning, just a waffle. No, put a couple of sausages on it, and coffee.”

“That’s better.” The waitress called the order to the cook and poured a cup of coffee and in almost one motion set it on the counter with two creamers.

“Thanks.”

An hour later, he headed to the apartment. School was out so the roommates were sleeping in. When he peeked in the girl’s window, Caitlin was on the computer but there was no sign of Betty Jo. LC tapped on the window. Caitlin looked up and came over, and motioned for him to come in.

“I just thought I’d let you repay the ice cream at lunch today, I’ll get a couple of Subway subs and we can have a picnic.”

“Ah, I offered ice cream the other night but you refused. Now, my roommate and Murphy have polished it off. But, if the offer of Subway is still on, make mine a chicken salad, no bread, just some chicken on lettuce, all the fix’ns.”

“Got it. Chicken on lettuce, load it.”

“Closer to noon alright? Yeah, give me time to catch up on my email. During finals, I got behind. Bet you’re glad to be done.”

LC shook his head. “Sorta. This mystery is wearing on me. My tickets are bought, and a hotel room is paid for. You were with me when a ton of clothes were ordered. What am I supposed to do?” I get a text message from this person almost every day. I get Fed Ex messages, billboards, and airplanes pulling banners. What’s next?”

“Go.” Caitlin came up to him and touched his arm. “Take the chance, you’re what, like 22 years old.”

“Be 23 during the trip. Wish Mike thought okay about it.”

“I’m sorry, but Mike thinks he can run your life, make a jump; I mean like he didn’t talk to you for months and now I suppose he wants you to beg when he barks.” She hugged him. “I don’t bark.”

“He makes some sense. Like today I gave notice on my job.”

Caitlin separated from him. “Really?”

“Yeah.”

“What are you going to do?”

“Hopefully med school, student loans, find a job somewhere, you know the routine.”

“And, you really want to go to med school?”

“Yeah.”

“Maximum student loans?”

“I suppose.”

“Trust me, LC, you need a keeper; someone to guide and help you to your goals. If nothing else to keep you fed and sane.”

LC chuckled. “Funny you should say that.”

“Why?”

“My mystery person texted me yesterday with those words.”

“What?”

“Trust me.”

“Oh.”

LC walked to the couch and sat. Caitlin sat next to him and picked up his hand. He said, “So, whoever it is, for two weeks, I am placing a whole lot of trust in them.”

To be continued...

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Dub Wright

Curmudgeon; overeducated; hack writer; too much time in places not fit for habitation.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dub WrightWritten by Dub Wright

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.