Humans logo

Nathaniel

Crossfire ©️

By Jo Donato - AuthorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nathaniel

I looked up into what I thought was the face of an angel. He was beautiful; his hair was the colour of sand, messy, and fell across his forehead, covering his eyebrows. His eyes reminded me of my mother’s, sparkling green, his lips full and red, and his skin flawless.

He was still holding my arm as I took a step back into the closed door.

“I’m sorry, I, I didn’t see you there.”

That would have been the most stupid thing to have said considering he was about six feet tall!

“Obviously.” He laughed, pulling me gently towards him away from the door. “I’m Nathaniel.”

I felt my heart began to beat fast and my breathing was coming in a little too quick. The door opened and Mr P stuck his head out.

“Oh Nathaniel, you decided to join my class. Harper, are you okay?”

“Yes, sir, thank you. Just feeling a little light-headed.”

“I was just telling Harper I could take her to the infirmary, get one of the nurses to check her over.”

“Yes, yes, that would be a smart idea.” Mr P nodded, then headed back inside.

Nathaniel looked back down at me as he let go of my arm. “It’s okay, take a deep breath. Where were you going in such a hurry like that?” he enquired, glancing over his shoulder towards the door.

“Anywhere but in there,” I said.

He held out his left hand. “Come with me, I know a place.” His eyes bore into mine.

I lost all train of thought as I held my hand out to him. As soon as my hand touched his, a bolt of electricity ripped through my body.

A small gasp escaped my lips. “Where are we going?”

He gave me a crooked smile. “Upstairs,” he said as he pulled me down the corridor a little too quickly.

I pulled him to a stop.

“What?” His crooked smile turned into a wicked grin.

Knowing the boys dorms were upstairs, I began to worry.

“Shouldn’t we be getting back to class?”

Nathaniel took a step closer to me. “Harper, this is a school for misfits. We are here to be babysat, not get an education.” He laughed, as he began pulling me down the corridor.

“Wait, stop.” I pulled my hand out of his, and the buzz of electricity subsided.

“I am not a misfit and how did you know my name? I never told you.”

“Mr P said your name,” he said bluntly, watching me.

“Oh.”

Nathaniel picked up my hand and turned my wrist over. I yanked it out of his cold hand.

“What are you doing?” I asked suspiciously.

“Why are you here, Harper?” he asked, ignoring my question.

My brain clicked into overdrive and I felt a need to answer his question as his green eyes looked into mine.

“My parents thought it would be a good idea for me to get away for a while, to come here to be with kids like me. So far no one here is like me.”

“Like you?”

“That’s what my mother said,” I replied.

He leant a little closer. “There is a reason why you are here, isn’t there, Harper?”

I felt my eyes begin to burn. I wasn’t going to tell him about Ryan; how I lost my only friend, ending up here in this school full of nutcases. Tears fell down my burning cheeks.

Nathaniel reached up and touched the side of my face. A sense of calmness washed over me as I felt myself melting into the palm of his hand.

I looked up into his eyes. What was the chances of two drop-dead gorgeous guys showing an interest in me? It must be because I was the new girl.

Maybe I did belong here. Maybe my mother was right.

“I should get back,” I told him.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jo Donato - Author

I am an author, wife, mother of two teenage children and mother to a dwarf rabbit called Peanut, Blue Roan English Cocker Spaniel called Arlo and three fish called Fish Fish.

I have published two novels, Crossfire and Secrets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.