Humans logo

My Worst Date Ever

Let's just say I will never go out with him ever again.

By Jacqueline LonghurstPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

It was two years ago when I had gone on this date with a "guy" who was two years older than me. He was 18 years old and I had just recently turned 16.

Now, here is the worst part of the date: he didn't drive, and that says a lot for an 18-year-old boy. I mean, come on. So, we went to this fast food restaurant nearby my high school and his house.

He was late. He arrived after I had already started eating my crispy chicken salad. He waited until I was done eating to get something to eat.

After "we," meaning he, had finished eating, we decided to walk down to the lake. As we were crossing the bridge to enter the downtown area of our town, he told me he was terrified of walking on bridges and moved to the side of where the traffic was. Now keep in mind, this happened during the first week of February 2016. It was freezing cold and there was snow on the ground. So when we were closing in on getting to the lake, I saw my friends coming up the street. I ran across the street to talk to them since he was talking to someone on his phone. I told all my friends it was SUPER AWKWARD and I REGRETTED GOING ON THIS DATE NOW! Like what was I thinking? Why was I putting myself through this? All sorts of things. So, once I finished talking to my friends and I went back over to him as we continued on our cold journey to the lake in this freezing cold weather.

Once we were at the lake, he then told me that, if he were to fall in, I would have to save him because he can't swim to save his life. I was thinking, yea, sure I'll save you, but not in this weather! After standing in the same area for so long, we walked towards the park that was near the lake, and we sat on a bench for a while. After some silence, we talked about our lives and whatnot, before he decided to tell me that, if we were to go on another date, we should "Netflix and Chill." I'm thinking HELL NO, I don't know you that well and I'm not even considering having sex with you, but I tell him "Kay."

Now we flash forward to us walking towards my school so I can catch the bus home. But because there was so much time left until my bus came, we decided to walk around the track at my school where I saw another one of my friends, and we walked over to talk to her. She could tell that I was uncomfortable, even when I introduced who he was. Now, after I finally finished talking with my friend, it was time for me to go and catch my bus to go home and say goodbye to him. This would be the only time I would talk to him after that horrific date, and the last time he would touch me. When I got home, I noticed a text from him saying he "had a good time today." I would respond with "same" and never speak to him again, even though I had planned a few days later to tell him it was over.

#MyWorstDate

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jacqueline Longhurst

I'm a 17-year-old girl. With a dream of one day that I will be an NFL Sports Reporter/Analyst. I love playing sports. I'm a very active person whether it's just going to the gym & working out or just playing sports!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.