Humans logo

My Heart is With The Whole of Vocal: Tom Bradbury.

A Friendly Stranger, And One Who Will Always Be With Me

By Carol TownendPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
8
My Heart is With The Whole of Vocal: Tom Bradbury.
Photo by Prateek Gautam on Unsplash

I chose a candle for this article today, as I wish to send all my heart to Vocal and the family of Tom Bradbury.

I came across Tom in the Vocal lounge on Facebook, where I had many beautiful conversations about writing with him. Tom was always caring, warm-hearted, fun and he brightened up everyone who spoke to him.

When I first started writing on Vocal, I was at the start of my writing career, and I had very little confidence in myself and my work. When Vocal lounge was created, I made many online writer friends there who loved reading my stories, of who I am eternally grateful. Tom gave me the confidence to build those friendships with his warm, caring, personality.

I read many of Tom's stories here on Vocal, and he read many of mine. I remember his humour when he discovered I started writing in filthy. Tom always told me the following:

'A creator never stops creating. They find something to write about in everything.'

Tom was never one for my wicked sex stories in filthy. He was highly amused when he found me writing in there, because he had always known me as 'the innocent writer!'

I have had many problems with my mental health and I have been through a lot of violence. This causes me a lot of difficulties making friends off-line and out and about. I suffer from PTSD, which means I can be a loner most days. Tom read many of my articles regarding my experiences, and he forever empathized with what I had been through. He often gave me the strength and encouragement through kind words to keep going, even when I wanted to give up.

I have had some family trauma to deal with recently, which is why my friends haven't seen much of me here on Vocal. I only started writing regularly again today. It is a bit of a shock to suddenly log on and see all of the tributes written here with respect to Tom's passing, especially as this is how I sadly found out today.

I feel like the world has darkened around me once more today, as I have lost the warmest and kindest friend that I have ever had. I know we only ever knew each other online, but a friend like Tom for me was a rare find and something that doesn't happen to me every day.

I want all Toms family and the vocal community to know that Tom will be forever with me. I will think about him every time I read and write and remember everything he taught me. One thing me and Tom always agreed on was:

'One should always be one with nature.'

Nature seemed to be as big a thing for Tom as it is for me. Therefore:

'Where the sun shines, where the wind blows,

Where the Thunder roars,

Or the lightning strikes.

Those who depart,

Will always remain in our hearts.

Tom Bradbury was a kind-hearted man who could always make me smile through my worst and most painful days. I shall not paint a hole in my heart, instead, I shall fill that hole with colour through words, and I shall continue growing in strength and live every day like my last because this is what Tom would want me to do.

R.I.P to Vocals kindest man and the friend who lit a million candles in my heart.

Tom Bradbury.

Remembered for his passion for nature and words.

Remembered for his caring and compassionate voice.

Remembered for his encouragement and kindest of hearts.

'A friend for life, never forgotten.'

friendship
8

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.