Humans logo

Music, its importance and what not listening involves

Why music is essential and why you should listen to it - almost always

By Luca NicolettiPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Music, its importance and what not listening involves
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

In my teenage years, I was always listening to music, it was a fundamental part of my life: I used to listen to it while walking, while on the commute to school (just one earbud, while chatting with former friends on the bus) while studying, while eating, while at home alone, while talking with my parents, while doing sports, while sleeping - yes, I used to fall asleep listening to music, and the music kept playing until the next morning.

I fell in love with a piece of an Italian song which said:

Fortuna che è arrivata questa musica a salvarmi, di tutti è stata l'unica a ascoltarmi

which translates to

luckily music came into my life, it was the only one listening to me

That piece: the music actually listening to you, understanding your feelings, your thoughts, understanding you. I know what you're gonna say: "music isn't alive, it can't understand you" and you're right, in a way, it's not the music itself which understands us, but it's ourselves that understands us better, through listening to music.

After a few years, slowly, I lost my passion for music, I was not listening to music much anymore, I thought it was distracting me, keeping my mind occupied and not able to focus on tasks I needed and wanted to do (especially during the University years, while studying). I still enjoyed music, for example, while going to parties, or while sharing some special song between friends and partners, but not as much as I used to do. It became less and less important for me, to the point of almost avoiding it: I would listen to it almost never, and I refused to pay for any Music service since my usage of them would be minimal, if present at all.

I had a few interesting conversations with some friends about this topic, no one else was in the same situation, but my points seemed reasonable as everyone agreed I was "better off" without music.

Man, I was wrong.

I recently challenged myself into listening to more music. I don't know why I chose to do so, I simply decided that I wanted to listen to some more music, even to just have another topic to talk about with people: music, albums, new releases, etc...

There are a lot of examples out there about realising what you were missing only at the moment when you're not missing it anymore. This goes against another really popular piece of a song:

Only miss the sun when it starts to snow

So, which is right? Well, it depends, I - personally - realised I was missing music only when I started to listen to it consistently again. I was not feeling any lack of any kind until I did.

Music gave me back a better mood - even if I was never in a bad mood - I'm now feeling better - even better! - more energetic, I want to move more, I want to get out more, I pay more attention to music in pubs, bars, and gyms, and I dedicate time - specifically, only for that - to music.

I don't know why I wrote this down, but I felt that if anyone else was in my same situation, he or she might need to hear this

Listen to music, because it's the only one listening back

Music has the power to bring back memories and helps us memorise as well. Ever thought of a past event just by listening to a song? Ever remembered an event, a past experience, a specific one, perhaps really special to you, just because someone mentioned some lyrics? Or just because you heard some beats in the street? Music is embedded into us in a way we cannot understand fully, and sound can - and does - change our days in ways we cannot predict.

The best thing about it is that we have a lot of control over what and when we listen to music, so don't let this one go, and don't miss out on the beats of your life!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Luca Nicoletti

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.