Humans logo

Music Industry Is No Longer About Music O! - Pheelz Explains

Pheelz explains why he could not afford bottled water in 2021

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Last month, singer Pheelz was the receipent of a lot of social media dragging after he told Rolling Stones that by 2021, he couldn't afford bottled water. Internet people accused Pheelz of lying and exaggerating the story saying that how is it that Pheelz that produced all those huge songs for so many artistes couldn't afford bottled water in 2021?

Well, now during a new interview with F&S Uncensored, Pheelz is explaining how it happened. Here is what Pheelz had to say about it, as well as why, he explains, the music industry is no longer about the music.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Pheelz during interview

Explaining why he said he could not afford bottled water in 2021, Pheelz said:

PHEELZ: What happened was Rolling Stones reached out and said "oh we'll like to interview you Pheelz", I was like ah, Rolling Stones, it's good, let's do this. And I took the interviewer to my former house in Gbagada and I still keep that rent going just so I can still have that place. Sometimes I still go to the studio where I recorded 'Finesse' and just chill and say 'awww'. So I took him there and that just brought back a lot of memories. So we were sitting in the living room in Gbagada and we were just yarning. At some point I even forgot it was an interview and we were just yarning as guys. So I yarned him about everything and because I was in that space, it brought back so many memories. So this is what I said.

So like before 'Finesse', I had dropped the Hear Me Out EP and I had spent all my money on pushing the Hear Me Out EP. Because I shot music videos, I did promo, I did marketing. Cuz the industry that we live in now is no longer the music industry o! It's the marketing industry. If you like do 100/100 song, if you don't market it, nobody will hear it.

So you know 'Hear Me Out' gave me sort of like a shock. Because I'm coming from the generation where we had Alaba. I came from that era where it was about the music. Then it just slowly kept becoming about marketing, marketing, marketing. So when I dropped 'Hear Me Out', I'm like oh damn, I actually have to spend all this money on marketing now. So I'm like okay. And me I really care about my art, I really don't give a fuck about bar. So is it video? Shoot. Is it push? Let's do it! If it's about the art, let's do it.

So I ran myself down because in between all this, there was family, there was friends. And then it was post-lockdown so nothing really popped during lockdown, do you understand? So that is why I just told that interviewer that 'bro, it got so bad that I couldn't even afford bottled water, I was drinking pure water.' That's all I said. Because it got really that bad. It got crazy bad.

What do you think about what Pheelz said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.