Humans logo

Merry Christmas

And A Happy New Year

By Terri AllenPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

So this Christmas was a little bit different than my usual Christmas day with my family. We actually celebrated with our yearly dinner on the 19th of December, celebrating Christmas before my birthday was a little strange for me. But regardless the dinner was spectacular as always, my mother was a chef back when we lived in London and she was in the army so her cooking is always spectacular. We did however wait until December 25th to open our present together.

My mother was working on Christmas day so we got a small window of about two hours where she could come home and see my brother and I.

So my day started very early where I woke up at 9am to shower and get all of my stuff sorted to head over to my mum’s where my brother was waiting. After lugging four bags all full of gifts and party snacks which I was going to cook upon arrival. I arrived at about 11am, clothed in my new Christmas jammies and my Primark oodie, which is covered in cute little breakfast foods with faces. I can thank Hayley for my oodie and I can’t recommend them enough.

The mini feast started out with my speciality… a frozen pizza shoved into a warm oven and left to cook for 10 to 15 minutes. Then about an hour and a half later I get a call from my mum saying that she will be home soon so back to the kitchen I go to put in all the party snacks. These snacks included two dozen pigs in blankets, some cheese and pepperoni potato skins, some mini chicken bakes and mini steak bakes.

My mum arrived just as everything was coming out of the oven and I was so excited to give out the presents that I practically threw my gifts in my brother's face.

A few years ago when I started my current job my brother told me he wanted these funny fish pillows that we sold and finally after almost three years I bought them for him. I can't even explain how difficult it was to wrap them, they were longer than my wrapping paper was wide.

My mum opened her gift which was a cute little mug that she wanted. She was very excited about it and she said it was the “best mug in the world” while shoving it in my brother's face and laughing.

Later on that night I was invited to go to Hayley’s where I joined her Christmas dinner with her and her boyfriend’s family followed by very competitive family games before being whisked off to Danielle’s house for a few drinks and even more fun games on Uno with Danielle and her little sister.

A great Christmas is done and dusted so now we need to skip to New Years Eve!

Hayley, Danielle and I just had a quiet night in my house for New Years where we just listened to music, played EVEN MORE Uno and had a few drinks. We brought in the New Year together just having a laugh and gossiping about everything we could think of.

We were having a night in so that we avoided spending money but that didn’t play out to my two friends who both ended up spending money anyway. We ordered a takeaway as well because what is a girls night in without food?

But all together it was a fun night and I couldn’t have thought of a better way to bring in the New Year than being surrounded by my friends.

I hope everyone reading this had a wonderful Christmas and an exciting New Years! Did you make any resolutions? I’m still thinking about mine.

humanityfriendshipfamily
2

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.