Humans logo

Merlot Magic

A Nice Finish to the Beginning

By Kathryn Keller-CasperPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by my sister and me

Merlot. It all started with a single glass of merlot. It was the most magical nigh t of m y life...

I sat, semi-slouched forward at the small, rounded table made of antiqued wood. I noticed the tiny elements of brass on the hinges that sparkled as I tilted my head from side to side, enjoying the game of catching its light. I swirled my glass in my hand just enough to watch the deep-colored wine move cylindrically, stopping before it could make me feel dizzy. I heard the door begin to open, and I looked in expectation across the cafe. It was my favorite little place: quiet atmosphere and the best lasagna I'd tasted outside of Italy. I looked down briefly as I ran my hands through my hair and straightened out the shoulders of my blouse, reminding myself that surely I looked at least presentable.

I'd been waiting for this night for over a week now. I'd come across Randall's profile again and again, almost as if it were meant to happen. However, I'd felt it too forward to take the first step in getting in touch with him, so instead I'd just hoped... until I received that first message! I admit, I'd even found myself whispering the words out loud again and again. "A taste of Italy sounds so fine. At your favorite spot, we'll share some wine." I don't know if it was the mystery of it or simply the recollection of the handsome smile in his profile picture, but needless to say, I was deeply intrigued.

As I began to move my silver, good luck charm back-and-forth across its chain, I lifted my eyes toward the sound of the opening door once again. This time, it was him. "Choose a table, dress in blue. I'll bring a rose and come to you." I could hear the words of his second message resounding in my head. A moment later, he stood before me, smiling gently, as he leaned in and said, "For you." I took the rose in my hand as I thanked him for the kind gesture. He pulled his chair away from the table a bit and quietly took his seat.

"Thank you for ordering the merlot," he said, as I filled his glass half way. He made the same circular motion that I had made earlier before sniffing it and bringing his lips to his glass. He took a sip before commenting, "Nice finish to this one, yet, it's only the beginning." I hardly knew what to say, which felt so strange to me given that I am typically quite a talker. I just watched him, enjoying how much he was enjoying this moment. I suppose it was no secret how much I was enjoying it too.

The waiter introduced himself once again as he returned to our table, offering us the menu. For a moment, I felt surprised as Randall declined the menu, as if he already knew what to order in my favorite restaurant where he'd never before been. He looked at me as he put his hand up slightly to remind the waiter he did not care to see a menu. The weight of Randall's eyes on me stirred my memory enough that I recalled the words of his third message. "The main course will include your favorite treat, merlot, and then finally, something sweet."

"He'd like the lasagna, please, and I'll have the same," I said with a smile. Out of the corner of my eye, I could see Randall smiling too. With that, the waiter gave a nod of agreement, turned briskly, and stepped away.

Our eyes met again as we looked at one another across the table. Almost simultaneously, we reached for each other's hands, and it felt warm and comfortable, as if we were something more than two strangers preparing to enjoy a meal together. He asked me to tell him about my hometown, and he listened intently as I described it. The fact that he quietly repeated a phrase or two of my words really made an impact, as if he wanted to experience the beauty of the place for himself. In turn, I listened intently as he shared a few entertaining anecdotes from his childhood, laughing again and again as he spoke of his brothers' antics. I had a feeling that Mr. Romance had played a much bigger role in the shenanigans than he cared to admit, however. I giggled to myself at the thought.

The main course was nothing short of delightful. I likely talked a bit more than I should have, trying to refrain from the expectation of hearing Randall speak up very much. I felt pleased that the dinner I'd recommended for him was so well received, savored, in fact. "A bite for me, and a bite for you. We'll share the sweetness of tiramisu." His next message, my next fun riddle, was already on my mind. I ordered our dessert as the waiter gently lifted our empty plates from the table. Again, no menu had been needed.

Randall set the fork into the tiramisu, allowing just the right amount onto the utensil. He smiled as he lifted the fork toward my mouth before playfully taking the first bite for himself. He quickly prepared another forkful, and this time, gently brought the bite to my lips. The bold flavors of cocoa and espresso provided me with the pick me up I had expected, though I certainly was not in need of one. I already felt like I'd been floating on air for the past couple of hours. It was magical... simply magical.

"A walk by the river in moonlight's delight; hold me close, hold my hand. May we share a kiss goodnight?" Ahhh... the final message that he had sent me, just earlier today. We shared our gratitude with Connor, our waiter, as we headed toward the door, hand in hand. The moonlight flickered through the trees, creating lovely shadows in our midst. The autumn breeze was just cool enough that it guided us to move closer to one another, which, needless to say, was nothing but pleasant. Within a few moments, we were standing by the river, listening to the sounds of the night birds. We sat, removed our shoes, and hung our feet in the cool water.

He walked me to my car as we said our goodbyes, and with my permission, he placed one soft kiss on my cheek. I stared at him for a moment, in awe of myself and how treasured I felt. I tried my best to relish it all, knowing I may never see this man again. "A glass of merlot at the start of the night makes everything else feel nothing but right."

I still think about Randall now and then. We haven't spoken in weeks, yet I believe there's more to come. If there isn't, then that's just fine too, but I choose to focus on the magic of our first date. "Don't be sad when it ends, for we never know what the future may hold, or how love can grow." To think, it all began with a glass of merlot.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Keller-Casper

Mother of three, avid writer, photographer, and gardener

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.