Humans logo

Merlot Dreaming

It all started with a glass of Merlot

By Linda PaulPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Merlot Dreaming
Photo by Apolo Photographer on Unsplash

The early morning sun shining through the bedroom window slowly eased its way under her closed eyelids. Carefully opening one eye, she moaned and pulled the pillow over her head. That is the price she paid for cruising through that whole bottle of wine last night. She consoled herself with the thought that at least she had the day off. She had drifted back off into a peaceful dream involving a sandy beach, a long cool fruity alcoholic beverage and a sexy man in very tight bathing trunks when a jangling wind chime in a nearby window interrupted the dream within a dream in which she was totally and actively immersed. She reached over and grabbed her ringing cell phone off the nightstand.

“What the hell do you want?” she growled.

There was a long silence before a male voice answered her question.” Is this Brandy Lee?” he asked.

“It might be” she responded. “Who are you?”

“We sort of met last night. I was the guy who bought you several glasses of Merlot”.

Memories flooded back into her mind and she remembered a very good looking man sending her drinks from across the room. The bar was really crowded and her sister was guarding her like a watch dog. Apparently, her sister thought that she was still in shock and denial that her boyfriend of ten years had left her for a little bimbo with a brain the size of a peanut. So, Brandy Lee was allowed to go out and drink herself into a stupor, but she couldn’t enter into a conversation with that totally intriguing Merlot guy.

She had managed to slip the waitress her phone number written on a napkin to deliver to him. And, he was calling her. She sat up in bed and smoothed down her bed hair and pasted on a smile.

“Well hello, she purred. I don’t think that I caught your name last night. I didn’t get a chance to thank you in person before my sister dragged me out to the car.”

“My name is Brent. I want you to know that I am not in the habit of sending glasses of wine across the bar to a woman I don’t know. But, there is something about you. I honestly couldn’t take my eyes off of you. I can’t really talk right now because I am at work, but can I text you later when I get home?”

“I would like that” she said.

It all began with that first glass of Merlot sent across a crowded room. There were days of texts and phone calls as they got to know each other. Then there were dinner dates and long summer nights outside beside the fire pit, winter nights spent in front of the fireplace absorbing the warmth of the fire and each other. And, as time went by they both knew that they wanted to spend the rest of their lives together.

One night, in the springtime, they went back to the bar where they first met. They had dinner and talked about life and love over a glass of Merlot. Brent knelt down on one knee and asked her to marry him.. and she said…

RING, RING, RING.

She sat up in bed and realized that the whole thing had been a dream. Her phone caller ID informed her that the phone call was most likely someone calling about her car warranty. She had drunk a whole bottle of Merlot last night. The bottle and half full glass on the nightstand was proof of that. But, she didn’t even have a sister or an ex boyfriend who ran away with a peanut brain bimbo.

Weird dream …I never want to see another glass of Merlot. And, so her day began.

dating
1

About the Creator

Linda Paul

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to be a writer. I tend to see life as a series of snapshots and magical moments. My six children are grown now, I am retired, and I would dearly love to pursue my love of the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.