Humans logo

Memoir of the Titanic

A feline story of love, loss, and celebration!

By Wendy Barrie, MA LMFT, RYT-200Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2

Ewww! Water! How I detest water! So, what am I doing here on this boat, this enormous city on the sea? Hmmm…a gigantic ship they call the “Titanic.” It’s a long story, and, well, I’m a cat, so I’m going to nap… And, then I’ll consider how best to share the story of my time on the Titanic.

It all began when my momma (the human lady) learned she would have the opportunity to join the list of people to come aboard the majestic ship and have the journey of a lifetime. Now, Momma was very excited, yet a bit apprehensive at the prospect because she was told pets weren’t allowed on the ship. She was quite devastated, actually.

I made it clear in no uncertain terms that I would absolutely not forego this trip with Momma. She would simply have to find a way to bring me along.

So much commotion and noise that seemingly went on forever came to an abrupt stop when Momma put her suitcase down and carefully closed the door behind her. As she opened the case, I plopped out onto the bed with a long, slow stretch. I proceeded to share my feelings about being locked in her bag for such a long time, and I think she understood me because what followed were many pets, hugs, and kisses accompanied by what sounded like a sincere apology. Then, I quickly lapped up some warm milk she set aside for supper.

I was mostly confined to our room for the duration of the trip, but on occasion I managed to quietly slip out the door in the evening just before dinner. I think Momma saw me, but she pretended not to notice. It was in those moments at night that I met my soulmate; my forever love. Although our time together on the ship was much too brief, it lended me the opportunity to fall head over heels. If I wasn’t mistaken, I think her momma also planned to settle in the Americas, which would make for a much more convenient arrangement for us.

Together, on the ‘ship of dreams’, we chased mice and big rats (the kind you only see on ships!), we frolicked about, walked on ledges, but never got too close to the water. We listened to music and watched the humans dance and celebrate until very late.

Then, one night aboard the ship after a marvelous and memorable evening together, a loud and scary thing happened! Suddenly, the trajectory we were on changed, and so forever, did our lives. “Boom, crash, bang!” We were swept apart from each other and from everyone it seemed. Chaos ensued. It was the longest and most agonizing night of my life!

I kept climbing higher and higher, trying to escape my almost certain death! I had large paws with sharp claws that had rescued me from dangerous prey on occasion. It was with these attributes that I was able to reach to highest point of the ship. A strange man grabbed me suddenly, and I easily collapsed and softened into his arms. Together, we swam to a life boat. It seemed we were floating in the vast darkness forever. It was cold. We were wet. I was reminded of why I detest water. After a long while, other boats came by moving us to their new boats. And they had warm blankets for us! The man didn’t really want me. He made that clear when we exited the life boat because he gestured as such and turned and walked away. But, I was alive!

I never saw Momma again. I think she may have sank beneath the water with the ship. This made me ever so sad and heartbroken because I loved her with all my heart, but mostly because her dreams of living a better life never came to be.

As for me, I had to rethink my life’s journey. I was now living on the streets without my momma and not knowing whether my love had managed to survive like I did. I was on a lifelong quest in search of her. I spent most of my days and nights looking for her and calling out her name in desperation. It was tiring and I often collapsed in exhaustion next to a dumpster of discarded food of which I was so grateful for; simultaneously thankful for a meal, and yet incredibly mournful when I reflected on what had slipped away so mightily and forcefully that night.

As I cleaned my coat after supper, I noticed my fur had grown dull and sparse. I was thin and in a state of ruin, weak and tired. I slept in dark, damp spaces with caution, and always remained on alert. In the moments I did feel safe I often dreamed of her, and of Momma, of course. My dreams gave me hope and helped me forge ahead and survive. After all, I made it off the ship and managed to find my way to safety. How could I stop now?

But, often, my fears took over my thoughts. Was this it? Was this all I could expect for the rest of my life? It was at that moment I decided to surrender and give up, that I heard a faint cry which sounded so familiar to me. Could it possibly be? No…yes? At the risk of even more disappointment, I listened carefully, moving toward the sounds. Eventually, I came upon an old multi-story, dilapidated red brick building, and sitting in the window some way up was my love. The very sight of her made me weep with joy in celebration of finally reuniting. I made my way to her and we embraced. Alas, we were together again! This is really where the story begins.

As I reflect on my journey on the Titanic, I choose to remember the good moments; the special times. These are the memories I hold dear to my heart. Today, I rejoice in my life, my kittens, and the life we have made together. I am reminded of Momma sometimes, especially when I hear a voice that sounds like her, or smell a scent she used to wear. I will always cherish her, and I choose to live because that is what Momma would want. Momma gave me a new chance at life. The ship of dreams was for me!

love
2

About the Creator

Wendy Barrie, MA LMFT, RYT-200

Here’s to hope and healing for all! I’m a mom and mental health therapist. I immerse myself in nature, enjoy reading, writing, travel, and human justice/human rights issues. I strive to show up authentically every day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.