Wander logo

Nature

A Thank You Note

By Wendy Barrie, MA LMFT, RYT-200Published 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Reflections

In the end, trees begin to slow their growth and find a suitable resting place. However, a tree’s trunk continues to thicken throughout its lifetime, adding new rings each year to represent ongoing changes. In this way, trees are similar to humans. Although physical growth halts, we continue to grow in a multitude of ways. We develop language for communication, empathy and understanding, and emotions, like happiness, compassion, and love. We endure hardships and storms along the way, just like trees. We fall, we make mistakes, and we get back up. Humans shed that which is no longer needed for life, just as trees drop their dried, depleted leaves on the cold, damp ground each Autumn. We let go of negative energy, troubling memories, excess weight, carbon dioxide, and other unecessary items from our backpacks along our journeys. With this shedding, we turn to anticipation of new growth and maybe even excitement about the future. We set off on a new path, and our branches continue to grow and change. Eventually, we do forge one last fall, and return to the Earth once again.

Like trees, other structures in nature demonstrate growth and change similar to humans. For example, roses, a perennial, flowers year after year. With the Spring season, warmer weather, sunshine, and water, roses find renewal, and begin to bloom again. The rose grows bigger each year, and its thorns not only protect it from dangerous predators, but allow it to reach out for, and grasp onto other structures in its surroundings. Each flower is unique, with a plethora of brightly colored petals. When the rose has completed its life’s tasks, and worked with tremendous effort year after year, it begins to wither and eventually dies. What a magnificent and beautiful process!

So, as I draw parallels of plants, trees, and flowers to the human experience, I wonder about my own growth and challenges as I move along the ever changing path that is my life. When I look into the water as I grow older, what kind of reflection do I want to see? What do I want to be my legacy? I hope to recognize a soul that has lived with courage, curiosity, strength, and vulnerability, like that of a tree or flower. I want to epitomize the beauty and tenderness of nature in my life by loving and respecting all that is alive around me. I long to love with my whole being, and to pour from my overflowing cup, sharing all of myself with others who are hungry, frightened, angry, desperate, cold, and grief-stricken. This universal experience of living in human form is both incredible and humbling. It’s sometimes scary and ugly, empty, and also full of joy and abundance!

Although I can’t prove it, I’m almost certain that trees, flowers, and all of nature embrace everything, and judge nothing. Nature allows us to jump into its world without contempt, fear, or angst. It openly ushers us into the tranquility and peace and beauty; it’s essence. Thank you nature, for all the gifts you share with us, for your lessons of strength and endurance, acceptance and love. Thank you for wrapping your massive, mighty arms around me, and embracing all that I am!

nature
Like

About the Creator

Wendy Barrie, MA LMFT, RYT-200

Here’s to hope and healing for all! I’m a mom and mental health therapist. I immerse myself in nature, enjoy reading, writing, travel, and human justice/human rights issues. I strive to show up authentically every day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.