Humans logo

Mean Ol’ Brian(September 3, 2020)

A story/memory by Merin Abraham

By Merin AbrahamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Mean Ol’ Brian(September 3, 2020)
Photo by ahmed zid on Unsplash

Mean ol’ Brian was no ordinary fella about town, now you might be wondering, “who is she talking about?”. Well, “Mean Ol’ Brian” stands for Mister Hoeft, a very strict and hard-shelled teacher at a certain school(college) in New York. Some people ask me how I came up with “Mean Ol’ Brian”, so I’m going to answer those questions right now,

I feel as if I was the biggest victim of mean ol’ brian since his behavior and reaction towards me always made me cry. I believe it was the 3rd day of September 2020 which was also my 2nd day of class. The situation started with my grandmother’s doctor coming to check on her, but she didn’t call in advance as she usually does. I was in the living room when I heard someone banging on the door. Mean Ol’ Brian didn’t allow any students to mute themselves or turn off their cameras that week. My grandma’s aide came to see whats going on, I told her to answer the door but she refused, even after I told her the person at the door was grandma’s doctor. In the end, I just ignored whoever was at the door but after the banging got louder, I asked mean ol’ Brian if I could be excused. I didn’t talk over him, I waited for him to finish what he wanted to say but he accused me of interrupting him, and with that, he began a short lecture on the consequences of interrupting the class. I moved to the family room to get some peace & quiet before the next “you interrupted me” lecture. Just when I got settled, the aide called me out of class to help grandma. That was the last straw for me. I was already so upset about getting blamed for someone else’s actions and now I can’t even sit in class without being interrupted and with that, I started to cry. Mean Ol’ Brian couldn’t care less, so he just ordered me to turn off my camera and to mute myself. I’ll have you know that Mean Ol' Brian can be a bit hard-shelled. However, I did the right thing by dropping the class before the man could fail me just because of his personality. Of course, I told him what had happened.

I had to tell my parents that I dropped the class, after all, I can't keep it a secret forever. I told them about the surprise visit from the doctor, how the aide was too lazy to open the door herself, and how Mean Ol' Brian lectured at me for "interrupting" him-which I did not! Unfortunatly, my parents told me that getting scolded is not as bad as getting a beating, and that I should just forgive the man and get back into the class. Eventually, I found it in my heart to forgive and rejoined the class. I expected him to change his attitude, but oh no! He had aggravated every student in that class by the time I returned. One day in class, Mean Ol' Brian put us into break-out rooms(zoom meeting). As soon I got into one of them, we were to discuss something, well sociological. But instead, our focus was on Mean Ol' Brian. We were discussing what to do about him, one person including myself called for legal action, while others called for reporting him to the college. I took it to Twitter. The school responded to the tweet and agreed to talk to the professor. But no matter what, Mean Ol' Brian continued to be mean. So after a while, some of us eventually dropped the class but we don't regret it a single bit. The day will come where Mean Ol' Brian will live to regret the way he treated us.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Merin Abraham

- I write motivational messages

- I write poems

- I write song(s)

- When I'm not writing, I'm watching T.V.

- Please be sure to leave a like and a tip if you enjoyed my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.