Humans logo

Me, Merlot, and a girl named Rosealee

By Jeff Crise, Amanda M.G. Busch, Josh Crise

By Jeff Crise, Amanda M.G. Busch, Josh CrisePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The glowing stars were brilliant in all their glory on that warm June night, only second to my perfect bottle of Merlot and my date, a girl named Rosealee. My Merlot, a perfect choice, as I used a carefully designed algorithm to perfectly match the wine in a harmonic cadence of my sensual taste. The night would not have been wasted sitting under the stars drinking the Merlot with the perfect company, Rosealee. However, star gazing was not on the agenda for the night.

I wanted to take Rosealee to the perfect place. A place that brought fond memories from my childhood. Nothing calls out romance like dinner and a movie. Dinner and a movie under the stars is a sure way to impress any date but when you add dinner, a movie, the stars, and a glass of the perfectly matched Merlot, even the passionless couldn’t help but be impressed. I planned this first date out to the last detail. If the saying is true about first impressions, I was certain to make a lasting first impression.

I stared at the clothes hanging in my closet. Many questions began swirling in my head. How did I end up with so many shirts? Stripes or solid? Which color is best for a first date? I decided on a dark blue polo shirt accented with white stripes. A blue and white striped polo shirt? What was I thinking? I need to impress. I need to be bold. I must have changed my shirt seven times before convincing myself the proper shirt for a first date is a red button-down long sleeve shirt with small cream stripes. With beige cargo shorts, after all, it is June.

I made my way to the bathroom for a quick hair adjustment. With two cowlicks and a widow’s peak, you can never go wrong with a little hair gel or a lot of hair gel. With the hair gel in place, my hair looked ready-ish to go. Walking out of the bathroom, the first date jitters crept into my mind. What if I mess this date up? What if she wants children? No, stop, stop! I’m not going to ask her to marry me on the first date. It’s very unlikely these conversation topics will be brought up on the first date.

Besides, another pressing question popped up. What is the perfect food to bring on a first date that will compliment the Merlot? That’s a no-brainer! I’ll stop and pick up a large pizza. Great idea! But what type of pizza? With zero and ten toppings and no double toppings on the pizza that only leaves approximately 1024 pizzas. Oh my gosh, this date is going to be a nightmare. Keep it simple. Pepperoni and mushroom. No pineapple that’s for sure, pineapple has no place on a pizza, at least in my opinion.

I grabbed a cold bottle of water from my refrigerator. I emptied a lemonade packet into the water, a quick shaking of the water bottle to mix my beverage, and I was headed out the door to pick up the pizza. I grabbed my cooler filled with ice and the bottle of the perfect Merlot. I started out the door before I realized I forgot the wine glasses. I guess we could just drink out of the bottle, not the most romantic thing I’ve done on a date, but not the least romantic either. After picking up the pizza it was time to pick up Rosealee.

I pulled up to Rosealee’s home. Before I could get out of my pick-up, Rosealee trotted out of the front door. As she closed the front door, I noticed the curtain in the front window slowly close. My guess, just a bit of curiosity from inside the home. Rosealee opened the passenger side door and hopped right in my pick-up. We both smiled as we made eye contact.

Rosealee was wearing a rose-colored short-sleeve t-shirt with jean shorts. I was quick to compliment her outfit. Just as quickly, we drove off heading for our destination. Rosealee had no idea where I was taking her and she never asked. I would have gladly told her where we were going, but since she didn’t ask, I didn’t tell. I did have a small worry, I hoped I made the correct guess when ordering the pizza.

I glanced at the clock on the radio. We were right on schedule, not that Rosealee would have known any different. I asked if the music was okay. Rosealee went on to explain that she was a fan of all types of music. I left the current music playing. I guess tonight was going to a classic music night. Which was just fine. Our drive was short. Across town and we’d be at the destination of my choice.

We made our destination. The drive-in. I can’t think of a better place for a first date. Two movies for the money. Outside under the stars. The old speaker system still in use since the 1950s. Bring your date, your food of choice, and your favorite beverage. To me, this was the ultimate first, second, or any date for that matter. I turned to get into the line of vehicles waiting to enter the drive-in.

After a short wait in line, the gates were opened, and we made our way into the drive-in. Rosealee was ecstatic about the drive-in. She spoke about her favorite memories, when she was a child, going to the drive-in with her family. We drove around to find the perfect spot. A short drive and we found our perfect spot. We pulled into the spot. I pulled the lawn chairs out of the back of the pick-up. Rosealee helped set up the chairs. I felt as if I had made the perfect decision. Well, we haven’t had the pizza yet, fingers crossed.

Rosealee sat in the chair. I grabbed the pizza out of the back of the extended cab. I took the pizza and the cooler to where we decided to sit. I removed the 1950s speaker from the metal post/holder and placed it on the arm of my lawn chair. We talked while the old-time music played on the speaker. The music playing was old country. I opened the pizza box and waited for Rosealee’s reaction, again fingers crossed. Rosealee asked how I knew that pepperoni and mushroom was her favorite pizza. Lucky guess! I took the Merlot out of the cooler. I handed one of the wine glasses to Rosealee.

I gracefully opened the Merlot. Okay, it wasn’t that graceful but I got it open. I poured the Merlot into Rosealee’s glass. She smelled the Merlot as she swished the wine around in the glass. Rosealee slowly sipped the Merlot. She expressed her enjoyment of my choice of Merlot. I left out the part about the algorithm perfectly matching the wine. As we sat there waiting for the movies to start, we ate the pizza. I wish I had remembered plates. I guess there is no such thing as a perfect anything. At least I had some napkins.

We talked up until the start of the movies. I made my way to the concession stand and ordered us a large bucket of popcorn, extra butter of course. I brought various types of candy to save money, but buying the popcorn at the concession stand is a must. Next to the company of Rosealee, the sky of stars, the pizza, the Merlot, candy, and extra butter popcorn, the best part is the antiquated concession ads and the movie previews.

We made it to the second movie before moving into the pick-up. We loaded everything up into the pick-up. After the second movie, we made our way out of the drive-in, and I took Rosealee home. The first date was a success. I asked Rosealee as she was exiting the pick-up, for a second date. Rosealee accepted and asked what took me so long to ask. Nerves, I guess?

Rosealee and I dated for a while before getting married. Rosealee often joked she only married me because of my great taste in Merlot. I never have told her about the wine algorithm. I’d say that’s the only secret I’ve ever kept from her to this day. That first date was a long time ago. It’s unfortunate that we now talk about the drive-in past tense.

All good things must come to an end. The drive-in was purchased and torn down to make way for some type of super lumberyard store. Though the drive-in is long gone, the memory of our first date will always live on.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Jeff Crise, Amanda M.G. Busch, Josh Crise

Writers, riders, and family Jeff Crise, Amanda M.G. Busch, and Josh Crise are known as the co-authors of the Sherbert M. Holmes book series. Among their other accomplishments are graduating college together twice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.