Humans logo

Many people talk about making changes

Change will unavoidably occur when you put into practice the wisdom of the awareness you have discovered.

By sara trifPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Many people talk about making changes
Photo by Brad Starkey on Unsplash

Many people talk about making changes, but relatively few actually do. You might be attempting to modify a number of things in your life. When the change doesn't occur quickly enough, the majority of individuals give up and lose hope. Few people possess the motivation, tenacity, and awareness needed to start the "transformation" process.

Many people spend years in a cycle of indoctrination that is repeated despite their awareness that they should change but are unable to. At some point or another, I've considered each of the four arguments. I am one of those people that finds change difficult. It can occasionally be agonizing, difficult, and a little overwhelming. I therefore catch myself before I revert to my unpleasant comfort and have to start again from scratch.

These four explanations should help explain why you struggle or haven't changed what you've been considering for weeks, months, or even years.

It must be painful enough.

This discomfort could be mental, emotional, or spiritual. Or, in hell, it can be a mix of all three. Some people are compelled to change once they have endured enough pain. But occasionally, the discomfort of change can outweigh the problem you are trying to resolve in your life. Many people adopt the mindset that there is no escape. Or, and this is far from the reality, this is how my life must be.

Only we are able to recognize when enough is enough. We "fear" change in a variety of situations, including relationships, dietary routines, alcohol and drug use, careers, and a host of other things. I believe you are forced to change once you understand the change you long for won't be much worse than the torment you are currently experiencing. However, in actuality, you decide to change because you are unable to continue living your current life.

Some people will see enough in others to transform them.

I think it's incredibly helpful to see in other people what you want for yourself. I believe this is the reason 12-step organizations have had some success. Many entered busted and in tears, listening to the accounts of others who had gone through the same suffering. They witness the person flourishing and building a wonderful life. In turn, hearing about someone else's experience with hope inspires people to start making changes in their own lives.

How frequently have you seen a motivational speaker or someone who has experienced abuse turn the tables and work hard to create a life they love? If not love, then at least a more bearable life.

The world would be different today if more people had cooperated with one another rather of fighting. With its hatred and divisiveness, the world is dividing us. When "they" seek control even though this is the last thing we need.

Unless you are lifting someone up, never look down on someone. Due to the abuse from an ex, I struggle with this. As I write this, I am going through this process.

There is a wealth of information available.

This is a major issue. Sometimes, all it takes is adequate education on your part. You arm yourself with the information and wisdom needed to tackle your problems head-on. It can take years of study, reading, writing, making mistakes, and all that jazz, but eventually it will all make sense.

Change will unavoidably occur when you put into practice the wisdom of the awareness you have discovered.

Some will get enough attention to encourage you, and I think I'm at that place right now. On Quora, I have a larger following, but I also receive fantastic support from there. It is inexplicable. One random comment from a stranger that uplifts me on my worst days when I'm battling a severe trauma bond and my own inner demons. It only takes one message from someone I've never met or spoken to to let me realize I'm not alone.

Receiving responses stating that I have helped people with my struggles and stories also helps. Since we are all trapped in this earth together and won't all survive, why not lend a hand to and assist one another?

Numbers definitely have power. The more numerous your tribe of supporters, the more quickly the odds can change in your favor.

The lesson

Change is very challenging. I understand because I deal with it daily. I am getting closer, one mistake at a time, yet for some reason I keep putting it off.

Nothing can be done for me by anyone. And occasionally, the anxiety I experience is beneficial because it shows up just when my life is undergoing a nice transition. I also find it difficult to distinguish between good and negative anxiety. And when I should do the exact opposite and lean into the fear, I resort to self-sabotage.

When enough people are injured, learn, see, or receive, they change. Observe that.

I suppose change is simpler than I realize; I just enjoy making things more difficult.

How are you doing?

fact or fictionfeaturehow tohumanityreview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.