Humans logo

LISTENING EARS

STORY

By BELLEPublished about a year ago 11 min read
Like

MOM DOESN’T LISTEN…….

hi I'm Belle from France please like And

subscribe I'd lived in an orphanage ever

since I could remember but I was always

curious about my parents and I'd annoy

the warden with my questions are you an

evil what you took me for my parents

because my hair has magic powers tell me

now or else I heard about a girl whose

parents were astronauts and they got

stuck on the moon do you think my

parents are there too are you skipping

class again why are you such a nuisance

there you are Belle so sorry ma'am I'll

just take her away Miss Vivian was our

teacher and my best friend at the

orphanage she couldn't have children of

her own and she was really attached to

me and I adored her she could always get

me to study by promising me to help me

with my singing later I don't really

need school cause I'm gonna be a famous

singer one day yeah but there's no harm

in having some options right my life at

the orphanage was good but when I turned

15 things took a wild turn mistv had

told me about a talent show she'd

applied to on my behalf and I'd gotten

an audition next week but when my chance

came my nerves took over and I messed it

up completely Miss V tried consoling me

but I was just really disappointed with

myself as we were walking back home I

suddenly saw a masked guy running my way

with a lady yelling behind him he took

my bag please stop him without another

thought I grabbed a trash can and threw

it in the thief's way making him trip

over it I snatched the bag from him

before he managed to run away as the

woman came closer my jaw dropped she was

a singer named Madeline and I was a huge

fan OMG Madeline is it really you I just

love No don't touch me you touched trash

just now then she took her back from me

and walked off to her car without even

saying thank you hey you're so rude just

cause you're a celebrity you think you

can treat people like garbage some of

the people watching us had started

recording on their phones and booing

Madeline no wait I wasn't going to drive

away sweetie I'm sorry I was just shaken

because of that Thief please come in

I'll drop you wherever you want I knew

she was just being nice because of the

but she kept insisting so I agreed and

she took us back to the orphanage but

the next morning when I went downstairs

I was surprised to see some kids

gathered around Madeline and she said

she needed to talk to me privately hey

Belle I have something to tell you maybe

I'm wrong but I just can't shake off my

gut feeling you see 15 years ago I had a

daughter but my career was just kicking

off so after birth I left her at the

hospital uh what I regretted the

decision and tried looking for my baby

but I couldn't find her and when I saw

you yesterday I noticed your green eyes

and we have the same hair color I I

think you're my daughter I know it

sounds crazy but would you agree to a

DNA test I was stunned and I didn't

believe it but I gave Madeline a hair

sample and the next day she returned

with the DNA forms that confirmed we

were a 100 match Madeline the famous

singer was my mom and she wanted to

re-adopt me my head was just spinning

and Miss V made things worse Belle Are

you seriously thinking about going with

that woman she was so rude to you the

day before and now suddenly she's your

loving mom something about her is off I

can feel it come on she was stressed

that day and the DNA test shows she's my

mom I've always wondered who my parents

are and now I get the chance to know one

of them to have a family I'm just

supposed to let that go I thought I was

your family and I can't let you go with

her I won't you can't stop me Miss V

this is hard for me too but you're just

being paranoid Miss Vivian's eyes teared

up and she just walked off well if she

couldn't be happy for me then fine and I

left with Madeline soon after I couldn't

help overhearing that woman and she was

being so weird and possessive about you

it's not normal it's also not normal for

a mom to abandon her child for her

career I may have agreed to come with

you but I haven't forgiven you yet and

Miss V loves me sweetie I understand

stand your anger and I have a lot of

making up to do you want to be a singer

right I will start by making that happen

also if Miss Vivian loves you she should

be happy you're getting a better life I

felt troubled but Ben forgot everything

when we reached Madeline's Mansion it

was bigger than a mall my assistant

Juliet will show you to your room and

then I have an amazing spa day planned

for us Juliet wouldn't make eye contact

with me and after taking me to my room

she walked off without a word rude but I

couldn't help being excited that I was

gonna live like royalty I was hoping to

get to know Madeline more but the spa

day was more of a makeover day and the

next thing I knew I was being whisked

off to a TV interview Madeline I'm not

ready for this I've never been on camera

and I need time to process everything

what's there to process love you're the

daughter of a star and you need to

believe it and I just just can't wait

for the world to see my angel also could

you please call me Mom the next few

weeks were a blur of interviews and

events and we were constantly surrounded

by Paparazzi Madeline would always get

so emotional and people just loved the

story of how we've been reunited after

all these years but I still didn't know

much about my mom we hardly got the

chance to be alone and she hadn't even

heard me sing yet late one night I went

down to the kitchen when I heard loud

voices from Madeline's studio in the

basement Juliet you don't sound good on

this song at all well I'm sorry but I

had a cold that day we're just gonna

have to record it again and when I heard

Juliet singing I merely had a stroke

that was Madeline's voice just then

Madeline spotted me and she asked me to

come in I guess there's no point in

trying to hide anything now Belle you've

discovered the Family secret wait

Juliet's been the voice behind all your

songs yes she wanted a steady job and I

wanted to be famous but wasn't as

talented so we struck a deal at the

start of my career it worked out

splendidly so you've been taking the

credit for her talent and fooling all

your fans that's just wrong excuse me I

didn't ask for your opinion okay so I'm

not completely honest with my fans but

either way I still entertain Millions

you're too naive to understand all this

and you're certainly not allowed to tell

anyone do You Hear Me Maybe Miss B was

right about her if she could lie about

such a big thing who knew what else she

was lying about honey I want to

apologize for the way I spoke to you and

I got you the latest iPhone this doesn't

make up for it I've always admired you

as a singer and now I find out it's all

fake and no one will ever know it's

Juliet Bell do you know what it's like

to really want something but everyone

tells you you can't have it I always

dreamed of being a singer but my family

said I wasn't good enough and I just

wanted to show them Juliet willingly

signed the contract and I've always paid

her generously I'm not trying to hurt

anybody I guess as long as you're paying

Juliet well and treating her nicely I

can keep your secret that's my girl and

no interviews tomorrow we'll have a

movie night just you and me the next

evening while we were watching a movie I

turned to Madeline do you have some skin

cream my birthmark is really itchy

Madeline pulled out a jar from her

drawer but when I asked her to put it on

she looked confused why can't you put it

on yourself uh because I can't reach it

you do know my birthmark is on my back

right of course I know it's just been a

long time honey but yes it's on your

back lift your shirt please actually

it's on my thigh and it's the size of

Africa the only way you'd forget that is

if you never knew it in the first place

what's gotten into you Madeline I know

you're not my mom you've lied about

everything so I really don't have to

believe that DNA test either okay okay

I'm not your mom you caught me but

listen you did all this for publicity

didn't you just so you could tell the

world about your long-lost daughter and

capture everyone's interest and sell

albums you you're a monster please let

me explain I did do it for publicity

because it's so hard to stay on top in

this industry but I do love you and I

want to have you around if I did

something that helps me and also gives

an orphan an amazing life why is that a

bad thing I'm not your charity case to

show off and use to make money it's late

now but tomorrow morning I'm going back

to the orphanage I won't lie to anyone

about being your daughter I stormed off

to my room before Madeline could say

more she was unbelievable but the next

morning when I went down with my bags I

saw a doctor leaving Madeline's room and

I found out that she had a high fever I

was sure she was faking that too but the

doctor confirmed that she was down with

a bad infection Bell please come here

listen I'm sorry please don't go not

like this Madeline just get some rest

okay I'm here I didn't want to stay but

I just couldn't leave her when she was

so sick the paparazzi we're gonna find

out when I went back to the orphanage so

I'd let her deal with all that media

frenzy once she was better but I

couldn't help calling Miss Vivian and

hearing her voice I broke down and told

her everything I'm so sorry you were

right about Madeline her whole life is a

lie and she pulled me into it and maybe

I never really believed she was my mom

but I wanted to I don't blame you Belle

and I was being selfish too because it

was hard to let you go I can't wait to

see you soon I stayed by Madeline's side

till she recovered completely but as I

was packing my stuff again Madeline

walked into my room Belle don't leave me

please you're only saying that because

you're worried about your reputation

once the truth comes out sorry I can't

help you anymore then let me make you an

offer you can't refuse I want to feature

a duet by you and Juliet on my album

releasing next week and then I'll launch

your solo career the publicity we've

received helps us both with me you can

become a pop star overnight you'll never

get a chance like this again trust me

here Madeline was handing me my dreams

on a silver platter and it was true once

I got back to the orphanage people would

forget me soon and I'd struggle to be a

singer I couldn't really trust her but

Madeline called me and Juliet to the

studio the very next day to record a

song together it was the most thrilling

experience and she was blown away by my

talent you have the voice of an Angel

darling you're really gonna go places

the album was released and it exploded

the duet people thought Madeline and I

sang together shot straight to number

one on the charts and it was all you

could hear everywhere one day when

Madeline and I were at an album signing

event I spotted Miss V in the line and

ran to her Miss fee how have you been

I've been meaning to call but you got

busy becoming a star right I'm happy

that your dreams are coming true but are

you sure this is how you want it what do

you mean you said Madeline's whole life

was a lie and now yours is too you're

part of her secret and your faking being

her daughter this lie will just grow

deeper and then you'll have to give it

up forever are you okay doing that I

stood there speechless I just came to

tell you that I got a job in another

city and I'm leaving next month I wanted

to wish you luck and say goodbye I hope

you'll do the right thing Belle I know

you have that in you I was bummed out

for days after that meeting and I just

couldn't shake off her words soon after

Juliet came down with a bad throat

infection it turned out to be laryngitis

and she recovered in a couple of weeks

but the doctor said she could no longer

sing and Madeline went ballistic what no

you're fine now you can speak right why

can't you sing the doctor said straining

her vocal cords could damage them

forever but she has to try I'll take you

anywhere to get you treated Madeline

I've served you for 15 years I think I'm

done okay done you're done have you

forgotten our deal and what I can do

what are you talking about my mother

worked as a maid in Madeline's family

home and my brother stole all their

precious heirlooms he'd already sold

them by the time he got caught and he

was going to end up in prison for years

but Madeline kept him out as long as I

agreed to be her singing voice I've been

repaying her debt all this time but I'm

just tired now Juliet if the robbery

happened 15 years ago she can't charge

your brother for that crime anymore you

don't know what you're talking about and

why are you complaining Juliet you were

just a maid and I've done so much for

you just stop you're a terrible person

who will always find a way to justify

every selfish act Juliet is done with

you and so am I and so is your career

because you have no talent in the family

you wanted to impress so badly well I

don't see them around either enjoy the

rest of your sad lonely life with your

money because that's what you did

everything for Juliet and I left

Madeline for good and I couldn't get

fast enough to the orphanage Miss V was

leaving that day and I hoped I wasn't

too late I caught her just as she was

putting her bags in a cab Belle what are

you I did the right thing Miss V and

wherever you're going I'm coming with

you I won't take no for an answer I

would like nothing more love but what

about your career I'll tell everyone the

truth and then we'll figure it out I

actually have talent remember I want to

do things the right way even if it's

harder

literaturehumanityfriendshipfamilyfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

BELLE

when human beings face difficult health situations, it is not uncommon for their lives to unravel. My great passion id brining entertainment to my client who need need the power of my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.