Humans logo

Lightning In A Bottle

My Perfect Date

By Renee RobertPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

There’s something to say about intimacy, and When I say intimacy, I’m not talking about hot passionate love making under the sheets; I’m talking about really being able to open up to someone in a few hours and just open up all your secrets. Being best friends and learning everything about each other.. laughing.. feeling so comfortable and open, and that’s the most deepest form of intimacy you can ever experience..

And I did.

I met William three years ago; he would come into my work. I own a modest little breakfast brunch restaurant north of Toronto.

I would notice him notice me; and he would notice me notice me, but I was married at the time; checked out but still married.

This went on for two years. We would share conversations, and go over our horoscopes and I knew there was chemistry.

He was working in town on the highway construction projects and when winter came he would work from home 3 hours away. So I wouldn’t see him come in.

Then spring 2019 came. We were in the beginning of this new covid pandemic and I filed for separation. My marriage was well on the rocks a year prior but this put it to the edge.

But Will and I somehow exchanged personal contact info the day before he went home; we just never did anything with it; until one night, I messaged him.

And believe me; I never for once believed this was my guy.. I was lonely and I was bored, and I needed a friend. So I messaged him. And by chance he was back in town on contract. Wow right??

I had a few girlfriends at my house and told him to come by for a drink.

It was covid so he didn’t come into my house ; we all sat in my truck and had a few in the driveway and he went home. Score he left I went to sit in the backseat.. we had a few words for goodbye and god I wanted to kiss him so bad but I didn’t dare! I knew this man as a customer in my restaurant for the past years. Like hold it together Renee!! And I did..But.. he told me to call him the next day..

Yes!! Of course I did!

He had a trailer parked in the garage of the warehouse where he was working. And he invited me over. I dressed casually in some cute denim coveralls and a tee, nothing fancy, and I was nervous as hell because I knew I had a huge crush on him but at the same time I was so scared to ever start anything new with anybody. But, I was lonely and I needed a distraction from everything and everyone so why not. I went.

He met me at the door, and he looked so handsome. William is always so clean cut and casual with nice fitting jeans.. a perfectly ironed dress shirt and omg!!, he smelled so wonderful.. I was melting, but I had to keep it cool or I would start trembling.

He led me into his trailer with his hand on the small of my back; dear god lol, he was so hot !

He led me to the bench across from the table where he was going to sit and poured me a glass of Merlot, then proceeded to pour himself a glass.

He had his laptop set up to his speakers and was playing our favourite country radio station. All the nervousness seemed to fade away. I just felt comfortable and at peace with this man.

A song would come on and he would sing, and he would change the words and we would laugh. And we kept playing the same game. His eyes would catch mine and I knew we both felt chemistry, like lightning in a bottle of wine and then the song came on. All of of a sudden I knew I could tell this man almost anything.

He poured our second glass of Merlot and sat back down across from me. He stared into me and I stared into him. I had so much to say to him and he had so much to say. This is the man that came into my restaurant everyday and now I was alone with him. The man sitting in a corner booth sipping on a cup of coffee; I was alone with him.

I felt so comfortable, I crossed my legs and I just started talking and he just listened. I told him about my separation and I told him about my life stories and we giggled and he smiled and I bared everything. We weren’t planning on having sex or anything, this was pure intimacy. Beyond anything else! It was beautiful. He knew the words to every song playing, he listened to every word I was saying and hardly spoke except to say how stunning beautiful I looked.

I was falling in love all over, even though I said I would never do that again!

I knew I needed to drive home. He went to pour another glass and I stopped him. I stood up to pour myself a glass of water and there we were; face to face, body to body. His eyes starting into mine. He put his hand on my face, and whispered;” you’re beautiful “ , and with his other arm pulled me in staring into my soul and gently caressed my lips with his. Not even a full kiss. I was shaking. He was running his soft fingers down my back and pressed me into him and I’ve never felt this before. I was done!

I had told him things that night I never told anyone, I felt safe, I found my best friend.

And to this day I love this man so much. He saved me and I saved him.

Not one thing is different. This man has become my lover and my best friend. And it it all started with a glass of Merlot.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Renee Robert

I’m a newly single mom.. separated after 20 years of marriage.. 5 kids and and entrepreneur..

I love writing.. I love music including singing and playing guitar..

Excited to see where this new life takes me in my 40’s..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.