Humans logo

Letters to Brighid

Week 4

By Ashtore DriverPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

I’m starting a little late, spent most of the morning playing on my phone but I'm started now and before noon too. Its a new week, I’ve been writing this this 3 weeks now, writing at the very least once a week and I have to say I think its doing alright.

I’m thinking of adding a divination pull on Sundays, which is when I make my offering to you , Brighid. I am going to think about it this week and this Sunday I’m going to try it. I’ve been doing most of the talking and I want to take time to listen as well. I’ve not been real good about my guitar these last 2 weeks and I’m going to plan time for that this week, that another thing I’m doing, I creating a schedule for my time. we will see how well it goes. I want to get back into a rhythm and that a good place to start.

Its not too rigid , days like today are allowed, where I’m just not wanting to get out of bed but I still want to get the important things done. Like spending time with you, Brighid. I also want to get off the computer and get back into knitting. I always enjoyed it and I want that back in my life, especially now. I didn’t; remember my dream from last night but but not waking up in tears is a plus.

I need to get to the bank today, an ATM will do so time isn’t an issue, for rent and it looks like I will be heading down to the apartment tomorrow to pick up the mail and the last of the things. Wish me luck?

Just woke up and I’m already running late, well almost. I’ve got fifteen minutes to write and then its off to make breakfast.

I didn’t get to sleep until late because a certain someone was wanting the door open every two minutes. I had it closed because he does not really get along with the other cats and I wanted to avoid a cat fight. My mind is still waking up and writing is a little slow and clumsy but I am getting it down and waking up slowly but surely as I write. I’m trying to make sure this is legible afterwards but no promises this early in the morning.

I feeling like lighting a candle and or some incense would make this more ritualistic or just be like me avoiding the task as long as possible, I will try it tomorrow and see what happens. Lighting a candle while writing seems appropriate while doing devotion to a goddess of the flame.

I’m thinking what to make for breakfast. I have eggs and cereal but meh, . so I will but that together while I think. Good morning Brighid. May I continue to pray with a good fire.

Good morning Brighid!

I didn’t sleep well last night because once again my cat was being silly about the door being open and I found that his food bowl had been invaded again by ants, not fun for either of us. Its probably time to vacuum again with my vinegar solution I used in august. gonna do that maybe I can this afternoon before I leave for J’s house. I will give it a shot and tomorrow I will go down to finish at the apartment.

I really will, I’ve been avoiding it for a week now and just need to finish up and pick up the mail. then I can give the key back and be done. I sorted through the stuff in my room and am satisfied that its cleaned and the way I want it, I just need to empty the trash and bring up the table. to put it in front of the TV.

I’ve made a little seating area that is more cozy than the couch and has more support for my back. I just need to keep it clutter free and it will make a perfect reading nook or a place to watch TV from. the table will also help keep the track for the sliding door of the closet clear, its very finicky and had to move, if its going to be a functional closet I will have to at least be able to open and close the door smoothly. So many little things to do for the next little while and I need to get my car in again for the fixing of the wheel rim, sensor and the oil change. and check the engine light which is intermittent. then my car needs to go in for a couple things that have been recalled, its free and just needs to be done before something more serious happens. Wish me luck?

May I continue to pray with a good fire.

Good Morning Brighid

I’m writing this as I finally have gotten out of bed and made myself a cup of tea. I’ve lit a small tea candle to start with and I don’t know why but it feels more official, and the communication feels real and connected. A cup of tea is so good on mornings like this. When I’m in pain and really don’t want to do all of the things I promised myself I would do, not because I'm lazy but cause its hard and I’m in pain and tired out with people. I love spending time with J but the drive back is so nerve-wracking, going over that bridge feels like a roller coaster, and not in a good way. We both appreciate the social interaction but some days are worse that others. I also left something there that I am missing and that adds to the stress and I could not find a pencil sharpener at target, which did not help my nerves, because they had sold out at a back to school sale a few days before. The pencil I needed to sharpen was part of what was left so it wasn’t needed right then but it reinvigorated the feelings of anxiety and stress, good job Target. I know it wasn’t this intentional thing and it was just one of those things that happens but why today when having such a good day.

One thing about apps is I don’t like vague instruction, I mean what does log your time mean anyway? I’m finding it means become more aware of how you spend your time in your day and make adjustments as necessary to get what you need from the day.

See you tomorrow, be well and may we continue to pray with a good fire.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.