Humans logo

Legal Alien in Southern California

Part 2: The most disgusting burger!

By icyflowsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

In 2005, I got my bachelor's degree from one of the universities in Indonesia. I started working as a radio announcer in one of the popular local radio stations. It was my dream job! But my parents start to worry since it has nothing to do with my degree and think that I'm just wasting my time. So they offer me to go to the states and get my master's degree. I was hesitant because I didn't feel passionate about my major which is architectural engineering.

After more than a year of research, I decided to study graphic design and advertising. The only college that offers both was Fullerton college in Fullerton, CA. I would be getting a professional certificate after 2 years of study. A degree was never really my concern, I just want the knowledge.

I remember my dad was so excited for me since he had a similar experience. He used to live in Michigan for a couple of years when he was attending Michigan State University. He worked for an Indonesian government bank and he was sent there to get a master's degree.

My mom ended up coming to the States to be with my dad. She took me who was only a year old at that time and my newborn baby brother. Even though I was only a toddler, my mom said that I picked up English pretty quickly. We lived there for 2-3 years before returning to Indonesia. To this day my dad always said that it was the best time of his life. He loved his experience so much, it was his dream to send one of his kids to study abroad.

So, off I go. I was twenty-five years old when I moved to Southern California.

As an international student, my college paired me up with a host family. They said that the host family will take me around and help me get acclimated. I was paired with a nice older couple from Yorba Linda.

I was living with my roommate, Mia, for only a week and boy was it challenging. She bossed me around and was very disrespectful at times. I was looking forward to taking a break from her and stay with my host family for a while.

I remember when my host family first picked me up to go to the international student orientation. The husband named was Rick and the wife was Linda.

Rick asked me if I had lunch. I said no. He said that he will take me to the best burger in Southern California. And of course, they took me to In-N-Out.

We got the burger and Rick kept going on and on about why it is the best burger. He said, "This burger is made out of the freshest ingredients! The fries are so amazing. You will LOVE it. Once you eat it, you won't want to eat other burgers!" and then he said, "Let's eat it at the orientation! It's going to be at the local park." Eating a delicious burger at a beautiful park? Yum! my mouth waters.

After a 30 minutes drive, we arrived at the park entrance. There was a long line. The orientation made the park super crowded. An hour later, we finally found parking. I was starving. I still have my burger in the bag ready to eat. We sat down by the orientation group and I was ready to be blown away by the best burger in Southern California.

One bite in, I wasn't happy. The bread was drenched with sauce and the fries were soggy. The lettuce was pretty much wilted. I looked at Rick as he devoured his burger. I couldn't finish it. This is probably the most disgusting burger I have ever tasted.

Rick finished his burger so quickly and didn't ask me how it tasted. I guess he knew by my reaction that I wasn't enjoying it.

Years after the experience, I refused to eat In-N-Out burgers.

I have now learned since, to eat the so-called best burger with the freshest ingredients while it's still... fresh.

humanity
1

About the Creator

icyflows

People always tell me to write my experience living in another country. I started writing about my life journey. Can’t believe I’ve been living in SoCal for 14 years! It’s been a hell of a ride!

Grateful for all the experiences & blessings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.