Humans logo

Legal Alien in Southern California

Part 1: Don't Pee in the tub!

By icyflowsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

“Damnit! I dropped my passport” that’s what a 20+ hrs flight will do to you. LAX security picked up the passport, looked at it, looked at me, and he immediately says” Selamat Datang”. I was like, “how in the world he knows “welcome” in the Indonesian language?”

I smiled and said thank you. Strangely enough, feel welcomed. I still can’t believe that I am here in the United States of America.

I was nervous, cause the person who supposed to pick me up was a stranger that my dad contacted on craigslist from Indonesia. He looked up an apartment with a roommate and saw a girl posting an ad. She said she’s a Cal State Fullerton student and she’s Vietnamese. My mom was like “contact her right away! at least She would be eating rice.”

Not once we thought about how dangerous it is to contact a stranger and committed to living in an apartment with them. My dad requested her to pick me up at the airport. I was by myself, I didn’t know anyone. I was just hoping that she is who she said she was.

So I went out to the arrival area, saw 2 girls holding a sign with my name on it. I was relieved to see that she looked just like her picture. Her name is Mia and she took her friend Cassie with her. Mia was very quiet, a little awkward but hey I’m not complaining. She just basically picked up a stranger from another country to live with her. Cassie was warmer and more talkative.

We got to the apartment. It was a one-bedroom apartment close to the university. Mia decided to give me “a tour”. She showed me the kitchen, the living room, the bedroom, and the bathroom. Mia pointed out to the tub and start saying things to me loudly like I”m deaf “This is the BATHTUB, don’t pee in the tub! this is for taking SHOWWWER!”..and then she pointed out to the toilet and said that this is where you pee and poop. I was thinking to myself “does she think I used to live in a jungle?”

I was supposed to get my own bedroom per our email conversation. But Mia told me that the person who occupied the room is still there. She was supposed to leave 2 weeks ago.

"where do I sleep?

She was like well we can all share the living room.

“I’m sorry, we?”

Mia said, “ yes! you, me and Michael.”

“Where are we going to sleep?”

Mia said ” Right here!” pointing the carpeted floor.

Luckily my mom, for some odd reason, packed 2 pillows in my suitcase.

So, I spent my first night in Southern California, on the floor with 2 pillows, sharing a room with 2 strangers. I’m glad I didn’t end up in a gutter somewhere.

The next day, I’m starting to unpack all of my clothes and just realized I need some storage. So I talked to Mia and Mia said don’t worry about it, I will take you to places to get stuff but first let’s get something to eat. We walked and she took me to the nearest Mexican restaurant. I have never tried Mexican food before, so I’m a little nervous but super excited.

I followed Mia and basically just ordered the same order. It was a burrito with everything in it. Rice, beans, shredded beef, pico de gallo, sour cream, cheese, and salsa. My first bite was horrible. It tasted sour, and the combination was just all weird. I was starving so I just ignore the taste and just ate it all. Thirty minutes later, I have the worst stomachache. I ran home and went straight to the bathroom. Yes, I use the toilet NOT the tub.

.....to be continued on part 2

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

icyflows

People always tell me to write my experience living in another country. I started writing about my life journey. Can’t believe I’ve been living in SoCal for 14 years! It’s been a hell of a ride!

Grateful for all the experiences & blessings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.