Humans logo

Ladies & Gentleman, Please Fasten Your Seatbelts

Hello, 2022... let me introduce myself

By Crystal RaePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Ladies & Gentleman, Please Fasten Your Seatbelts
Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

I don't think you will find anyone more excited about the New Year than I am. My goodness... 2021 has been one heck of a ride. I can say that about the previous years but this one had a different tone. One of insanity. Moments that I truly could not have made up if I had tried.

Why the heck would I want to?

I seriously seek simplicity. A life of ease. Yes, I crave structure and security but on levels that are different than before. Something happened to me this year. There was a moment where I truly felt myself snap. I don't know if it was a physical response or a mental state of mind.., but it truly has been the best freaking thing ever for me. I feel at peace. Gah, I know that sounds so lame but after years of chaos and the highest of highs and lowest of lows... I am embracing the calm.

Wouldn't you too?

The girl that has sought to be loved has finally set healthy boundaries and is loving herself. Do you understand how cool that is? I am moving into this New Year with a smile. I smooched my pup "Meso" at midnight and felt so thankful I am where I am today. So much stronger. No longer chained to my past or doing things out of guilt or pity. There is a fire inside of me that is burning at such an intensity. I am no longer being held down by feelings of fear.

I know it sounds cliche but this is truly going to be my year!

Anyone or anything that does not add value to my life is not coming with me on my journey. The best part of that... I don't feel bad about it either. I have spent far too many years feeling bad. No more! Tonight, I rocked the gold glitter around my eyes. I sang songs and danced in my living room. I felt dang good and it's about time! I mean it... my life feels like it is under a spotlight and instead of slouching down and hiding I am standing up and letting the world know who the heck I actually am.

Good, bad, right, wrong, up or down...

There is no one or nothing that can hold me down. *Please note* That is not a challenge! I have taken my share of beatings this past ten years and I am really over it. I do, however, have a mean right hook in case I have to once again fight my way back to the top. I have spent far too much time kicking below the surface of the water gasping for air. Now that I feel like I am above water and my life is beginning to feel more normal than ever... It is not going to be easy to get my head back in the water.

The past few years made me strong. This year is dedicated to my happy, happy!

What a great sentence to type. What a great emotion to feel. 2022 is going to be all about the real. I am sure you think this is just another hyped-up New Year, new me cheesy article... and you may be right. However, for me, it is a statement of where I am at today. I can't wait to look back another year from now and smile knowing I got everything I worked my ass of to achieve. Let me repeat that...

I got everything I dreamed I would be by working my ass off!

Not because someone handed it to me. Not because I was born with a silver spoon in my mouth or because I had someone who had a bunch of money to give to me. Everything that will be mine is because I set my goals, followed my dreams (despite how insane they felt at my age)! I guarantee you will know my name another year from now.

Yep, that is how dang confident I am!

So, to all my haters... you know how the saying goes... "keep talking your shit, you are making me famous!" To my fans that keep reading my articles... Thank-you!

Happy New Year to all of you!

review
Like

About the Creator

Crystal Rae

My heart bleeds black and white for you to read like an open book... so don't be shy... take a look!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.