Humans logo

Journal Entries

Empathy and Misc.

By BurtPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Empathy

Here I sit pondering the turmoil I feel when I’m calm, when the world around me seems peaceful. This is the supposed ideal for which I strive, the calm I welcome when I’m not at war with myself or someone else, and yet, during these peaceful times, I am not at ease. Not at all. I have not found peace and feel as is something is missing from my life. I accept this truth of my life, this truth about who I am.

I’ve seen the same symptoms in myself before and I fear my state has spilled into the realm of apathy. Two years ago, my family called out to me. My children asked me, my wife begged me, to reassume leadership. I did not heed that call. It wasn’t fear that I couldn’t handle the position or live up to the expectations of those who needed me. It was simply that I didn’t care.

Can it be that my own agonies are so great and so enduring that I’ve lost my ability to empathize with the pain of others? I fear this above all else and yet, to be honest, I see it clearly etched in my features. A state of self-absorption where too many memories of my own horrors cloud my vision. Perhaps I don’t or cannot recognize someone else’s pain. Or perhaps, if I do see it, I dismiss it as trivial next to the trials I have suffered.

What am I without empathy? What manner of joy will I ever find if I cannot understand the joys and pain of those around me? I have been surrounded by people, all willing to engage in the sharing of themselves. Yet I wouldn’t allow myself to engage them, I could not loosen my guard I had put in place when surrounded by my horrors.

I feel as though I’ve lost my empathy. I hope I find it again and in time open my heart and soul to those deserving.

Misc.

I’m concluding that I should stop the bullshit. I see what is good and bad in life, but I’m still not sure who I am. I grew up seeing the worst of people. I learned how to manipulate everyone around me, something I still do to this day.

Who is Burton Burt? This is the question I ask myself. Honestly, I cannot tell you. I can tell you all the good and horrible things I’ve done but that doesn’t answer the question.

What would happed if I went the other direction with my life? I’m one of those people who can blend in with society. I could get away with god only knows what. I have the background that could fit every profile out there. I suspect that when I got tired of one, I’d move to another.

What makes a guy who doesn’t expect anything happy?

Empty Hours, Empty Days

I often wish I could sneak out of this place. Minutes blend into hours, hours blend into days and soon it all seems like one distant memory. I have many memories of that day, October 16th. Looking back on that day, I am amazed and humbled at the emptiness I felt.

I get excited each time I go to class because I’ve set my mind on learning from and observing others in my situation. Such a simple thing this is, yet so fulfilling it has become.

Self-Reflection

Self-reflection is a tool used to clarify and find honesty within ourselves. It is a way to throw the lies we tell ourselves out and face the truth, however painful it will be. It is incumbent upon a person to admit his errors, to embrace them and then move along in a positive direction.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Burt

I have decided to share some of my journal entries with those who wish to read. These entries reflect my experiences, thoughts, feelings, and opinions during my time incarcerated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.