Humans logo

It's Been a Long Time

Since I left you, without a strong blog to step to.

By From the Mind of NobodyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I know it's been a while since I posted but I've been battling a cold and mix with the congestive heat failure, it's been a rough time. However, if you want to know what my thought have been these past few weeks its mostly:

• Coughing

• Sneezing

• Why am so hot and cold at the same time?

• When did this apartment grow into a football stadium?

• Why do I lose my sense of taste now, when my wife has found her African roots and is cooking pots of Peanut Butter Soup and Pepper Stew (Sierra Leone)?

• Why am I coughing up what appears to be thousand island dressing (that’s gross)?

Anyway, I'm at nearly 100% and wanted to just vent about a few things.

Sha ‘Carri Richardson

Now I know a lot of people are upset about her 30-day suspension due to her positive drug test for marijuana that destroyed a lot of her Olympics dream. I understand the marijuana is legal in several states and I also understand that she smoked a little something-something to help cope with the loss of her mother. However, like Tony Soprano I don't have the makings of a varsity athlete, but I do understand that when dealing with a sport that’s just as infamous for its rampant drug use as it is famous for its speed of the athlete, you have to either make better choices or have the cunning, calculating, deceitful mindset of the Godfather…. or Lance Armstrong. Anyway, there seems to be a movement (or rumblings) of people talking about not watching the Olympics because of this which is just stupid on top of stupid. There are so many athletes, beside Richardson, that train and work their butts off to compete that could use the support and a boycott would be a huge disservice to them. Now, I don’t know how big this movement is; it may be just a couple of idiots on social media sending tweets and making something bigger than it has to be, making mountains out of molehills (by the way, you can follow me on Twitter on @MindofNobody1)

Speaking of the Godfather….

I didn't get a lot of uninterrupted sleep so that gave me time to watch movies. I decided to revisit my video collection and watched The Godfather trilogy. First of all let me say, that The Godfather is the greatest thing ever written since man learn to put pen to paper (you can fight me on that) thus the movie is the greatest movie of all time because even though a lot is cut from the book (naturally) it's a faithful, beautiful interpretation. Godfather II has been widely regarded as not only the greatest sequel of all time but just maybe better than them first one, I do not share that opinion. It's okay but I really don't see what's the big deal is about the movie. I mean it's really two different stories that aren't even connected and a bit convoluted. The first story is about Michael Corleone and his family living in Vegas then he has to go to Cuba for some reason, his brother tries to get him kill but he ends up killing the brother (sorry, I should've given a spoiler warning but since the movie is about 50 years old you've had enough time to watch it). The other story is about Don Corleone who was the Godfather in the first movie and his rise power which again has nothing to do with the other story! His backstory would have been a better fit in the first movie (like in the book) Don't get me wrong, I love seeing Robert DeNiro play the young Don and start to lay his claim as being one of the all-time greatest actors, but the movie is just ok. Godfather 3 on other hand, which is just widely despised by people, is the one I really enjoyed. It’s a good story and a fitting conclusion of the Michael Corleone character arc. Also, that helicopter scene is just awesome, it always brings a smile on my face and is one of those must rewind scenes.

Wow Wendy!

I’m not a Wendy Williams fan, I don’t watch the show, in fact I don’t know which would be a more torturous hour; watching her show or attending a Trump-is-still-President-and-will-always be-President-until-the-end-of-time-rally. But this news story and the clip I watched just had me dumbfounded. Williams was having a segment about Swavy, an extremely popular TikTok creator, who was murdered. Williams goes out of her way to just belittle this 19-year-old kid. First, she admits that she doesn’t know who he is (so why even talk about him on your show) and her minions on the show didn’t know him either. Then she asks the audience if they knew he was and maybe one or two people clap. So then she talks about how he has such a enormous amount of followers on TikTok (which is in about 2 million so I guess that’s 2 million people that don’t watch her show either) but no one in her audience or on-stage minions knows him. Then one of Williams minions makes the effort to point out that Williams has more followers on Instagram than Swavy has on TikTok, to stroke her ego while she is supposed to be talking about the murder victim. She showed no emotion. She didn’t even try a vague attempt of fake sincerity, like most people in media do. I just couldn’t believe it. I’ve never seen someone go out of their way to deliberately and callously make a young black kids’ life seems so meaningless in such a disrespectful way (except in Trump rallies).

That’s all the ranting and raving for now. It’s time to sip on some tea, get under the cover and watch Godfather 3 again (just when I thought I was out…they pull me back in).

humor
Like

About the Creator

From the Mind of Nobody

The whimsical, unusual and sometimes brilliant rantings on a variety of topics, from comics to sports, from a complete nobody with nothing to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.