Humans logo

In to you

Playing for keeps

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

I took with my son to check into his college and meet his room mates making sure he was comfortable.

He had gotten a football scholarship and I as a single parent was proud and happy that he could on the financial aspect could go to college.

His dad had passed away when he was very young and I had struggled to make sure he had the best of all I could give him as a bank teller.

The first week of school the player and his parents were invited to a party at the head coach’s house.

It was a beautiful home on the side of a wooded hill overlooking the grey choppy ocean with looming clouds heavy with rain.

When we came into the living room where all the parents were mingling I saw the coach that had recruited my son.

He was so handsome and I was in hopes that he would be there but to my dismay he stood with his arms around a short and very pretty lady who could outdo any cheerleader with a swinging long pony tail, gorgeous legs and a flashy friendly smile.

When he saw me he rush over and welcomed me with her faithfully at his side. He introduced her as his fiancé and her manners were warm and impeccable.

I felt silly, how could I had even dared to imagine that I was someone he would be interested in?

The evening went well and I was glad when we left and was determined to put my fantasy out of my mind, yet my thought each night would wander back to him.

My son I heard from everyone was doing did well on the team.

I came up every week end to go to his games.

sitting with the parents as we cheered them on.

In spite of everything I still found myself searching the crowd for his coach who has recruited him.

Yet to my surprise each time our eyes met it seemed that he was looking for me also.

We both would turn away but sometimes I would find him looking at me.

At the last game of the season and it was raining cats and dogs with the football field wet and muddy.

At that game my son got hurt and I couldn’t help trying to go out running out on the field when the coach held me back by putting his arms around me.

It was the first time we had come that close to each other. We looked suddenly looked each other in the eye and it was like a magical spell came over us.

They took my son in an ambulance to the hospital and he offered to drive me there. I was so worried that I was grateful and said yes.

By the time we got to his car we were drenched.

All the way there he was comforting me as I began to cry.

Don’t cry he said. He is going to be fine.

Are you sure I asked.

You have my word he said smiling and I smiled back at him.

He took my hand in his and held it while driving.

It felt so natural.

When we got to the hospital the nurse thought he was my husband, and we both smiled at the thought.

When we got to where my son’s room, he was smiling and doing fine.

It turned out he just had been knocked unconscious but no serious injury.

I walked him to the hospital entrance thanking him for his help while the rain slide slowing down the glass door and windows of the hospital.

His phone ringed and he excused himself. I could see by his look and tone it was his girlfriend.

When he got off the phone,

he changed his mind about leaving and asked me,

Hey, are you hungry?

Let go get a bit to eat- I’m suddenly very hungry.

Okay I said.

The other coach took my son back to his campus and we

went to a cafe across the street.

We ordered hot coffee and stacked cold cut sandwiches with everything on them.

We sat near the window and watched the rain flood the streets and people crowing it with colorful umbrellas.

It was relaxing and fun as we both shared our funniest times on growing up.

Our laughter filled the air so much so that some of the customers were a little annoyed which made us laugh even more.

The quaint cafe was charming with it’s red tablecloths and candles on each table. I don’t know if it was sound of the rain splashing against the window pane or the music from the juke box playing oldies and or the warmth of each other that brought about a sudden silence between us.

It felt like it happened in slow motion as he took my hand in his looking deep into my eyes.

He held my hand gently and rubbed it with his thumb. I took a deep breath and knew what he was saying to my heart and I knew my heart was in deep communication with his.

We left that cafe as one and it was the beginning of something so much deeper than my fantasy.

He didn’t call me and for some reason that did not bother me.

When I saw him again it was at the next parent celebration party.

He was alone this time and when he came over to greet me, I put my hand in his and I knew it was for keeps.

We dated for six months secretly so as not to cause any problems with my son’s scholarship.

Then one night when he was taking me home, he passed it and kept driving. Then when he parked the car it was in front of little wedding chapel.

It was snowing and I remembered he kept the windshield wipers on and the car running for the heat to keep us warm.

He turned to me smiling and pulled a small package out and gave it to me.

When I opened it, I was excited to see a lovely diamond ring sparking like the snowflakes that were landing on the car outside.

I didn’t say anything as he took it and put it in my finger. It fit so perfectly.

“May I call you Mrs. Gram - now and forever? He boldly asked me.

I screamed “yes”loud enough for the whole city to hear and kissed him with intense joy and passion.

Happily we exchanged our vows that very night in the little chapel with two strangers as witness and without any fancy trimmings.

The only thing that mattered to both of us at that moment was that we were together — would be as husband and wife now and forever.

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.