Humans logo

If You Failed Writing Today There’s Still Hope

You can ride your feelings and let them write for you

By Giorgos PantsiosPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
If You Failed Writing Today There’s Still Hope
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

I didn’t want to write today. You might be here because you don’t want to, either.

As I’m editing this, I feel like I have to mention that I don’t want to change much. This story might be badly written, or have a bad flow but who cares. This story’s meaning is exactly this. You don’t have to be a writing machine, creating overused templates to engage the audience and get reads and claps. I thought we are writers. Not a business.

Talk from your heart for God’s sake!

And as I’m revisiting it now, I have no idea which publisher should I send this to. It feels like breaking the fourth wall in a movie as Deadpool did(I wonder what we would call ‘breaking the fourth wall’ in Literature)

I didn’t pay attention to the title either. I spent more minutes than I should with HeadAnalyzer(and my title scored 75 without even trying this time…)

Today I felt like not doing anything. A feeling of sadness and emptiness. I said SCREW it.

It’s this day. This one damn day where you are either down, or busy, or exhausted. You are feeling it in you. You don’t want to write a single word.

It’s fine. You shouldn’t. Many guides are saying that you should write every day and many guides say you shouldn’t write every day. Pick your side and keep in mind that everyone is right when it comes to writing.

I woke up later than usual, I spent some time on Instagram and that was it. I didn’t have any energy to write. It was a mix of sad music, sad feelings, and frustration. We all have those days, don’t we?

I did my workout, released the tension of this stressful for no reason day. I had a shower and right there it hit me. I wanted to write now!

I took my phone, opened the Medium app, and started writing. I wrote in Greek as it would be more fluent to me. I didn’t pay attention to formating or grammar or flow. I emptied my brain. I wrote about something personal, words that I may put in a book one day. Words that won’t give false hopes to the reader. It was rough and real, as life is.

I thought that I should publish this raw, unpolished story. Maybe it would strike better for the reader. I started translating from Greek to English and I stopped immediately. English lacks depth compared to Greek. I couldn’t get it right. Even if I could, no publisher would accept a story like this. It was hard to digest.

I remember how I felt writing that story, though. I felt the adrenaline rushing through my fingers as I was ferociously typing. In fact, I’ve written 564 words in 10 minutes. Before writing this I was angry, mad, sad, and upset. With me. With the world. Imagine reading a Caps Lock story, angry, and with no correlation whatsoever.

But getting feelings out of my system made me relaxed and happy.

A day that is full of tension and negativity needs a good ending. Go on and spend these last hours of your day with something that will make you release that tension.

Write down today why you feel like not writing. Break all your boundaries, the ones you made to write for publishers. Today you are not writing for anyone but you.

It doesn’t have to get published. In fact, it shouldn’t. Make it your magnum opus. When you read it you’ll see where you stood and where you stand now. The feelings that kept you down that day are the feelings that you now know how to ride to write. Free of laws and guidelines.

Originally published on Medium

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Giorgos Pantsios

Fulltime Writer | Fulltime learner | Polymath from Greece | Exploring life | Modern Philosopher | Phone Photographer https://linktr.ee/giorgospantsios

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.