Humans logo

I Refuse To Date Anyone Who Has An Android Phone

A critique of the most comical, most alarming and just one of the stupid trends in young generations.

By Shamar MPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
9
I Refuse To Date Anyone Who Has An Android Phone
Photo by Jonah Pettrich on Unsplash

The following is a sentence that someone had just recently tweeted and quite honestly I cannot believe it. I refuse to date anyone who has an Android phone.

If you are unaware, there has been an ongoing argument in society since the beginning of time that iPhone's are better than Android phones. To add insult to injury, there is an underlying rule in society that Android phone users cannot be taken seriously. Why? Because they have a low-quality camera that does not compare to iPhone users and makes it hard to view their social medias. That's just one pathetic reason.

The second pathetic reason that Android users are not valued is because they just simply do not own an iPhone. They don't have that magic Apple sign on their phone so therefore they aren't as valuable as an iPhone user.

My whole life I had owned Android phones. From the simple Motorola Razor., LG Cookie, HTC One, Samsung Galaxy S6 and Samsung Galaxy S7. My friends ridiculed me day in day out. It was awfully unfair and I could never get my head round the fact that I'm a societal laughing stock just because my phone isn't an iPhone? Is this really the reason why I'm single?

In September 2018, I went to Amsterdam with my friends and we got into a heated argument over iPhone vs Android. Come March 2019 when I was due an upgrade, I very much wanted the new Samsung S9 (WITH the free Samsung Galaxy buds) but I ended up with an iPhone XS just because I had it ingrained in my head that I was missing out and this is the reason I had been single for the past six years.

That was three years ago and the argument is still as strong as ever.

But this is besides the point, I cannot believe that young adults are claiming not to want to date someone due to the type of phone they own? Talk about self-sabotage at its finest! Those who claim to exclude Android phone users from their life are also the same people who agree that this generation is in dating hell. Yeah, I wonder why!

Image from Instagram - Ukgossiptv

Another alarming thing about the photo above is the responses. People were actually agreeing with this statement claiming they understand. Why am I not understanding the big deal about this? What am I missing? Do you get it?

In actual fact, a study conducted in the University of Lincoln found that Android users are more likely to be more humble, honest, kinder and less extroverted than iPhone users. However, another study released in 2018 by Slickdeals concluded that iPhone users are happier, spend more and earn more in comparison to iPhone users. Personally, I prefer the first study.

In my personal experience with men and their phones, my previous lover had an iPhone and changed to a Google something or other. I enjoyed his company no less and judged him no different. He wanted the Google phone because it came with a free Google Home and it was something he was interested in. Good on him.

The funniest thing about those who own an iPhone is that they are completely uneducated about how their phone software is made. Until less than a month ago, LG (an Android company) had been producing iPhone LED screens but have now stopped. In addition, Samsung sell mandatory phone components to Apple such as DRAM chips, OLED displays and a few other technical things. So, your iPhone is very much produced by Android companies. 

I've got to hand it to Apple. The fact that they can have this much influence over the dating community just by having the Apple logo on your phone is incredible and simultaneously incredibly stupid. But I'm not falling for it!

I'm calling this situation a serious issue of societal phone discrimination. Not everyone can afford the coolest and trendiest mobile device. Only a fool goes and renews their phone every time Apple release a new iPhone, which is about every year. What a waste of money!

Do I still have my iPhone? Yes, I do. I'm due an upgrade in 2022 and because I've surprisingly been experiencing no problems so far I'll just keep the phone. I'm far too old to waste time and money switching every two years. 

Am I still single despite the fact that I own an iPhone? Yes, it's been 8 years and counting. Maybe I need to switch to the iPhone 12 to attract more men in my life…

Ladies and gentleman, if you ever meet anyone who isn't interested in you or suddenly becomes unaccustomed to your company due to the phone you own, then good riddance because they were far too childish for you anyway.

I am calling out those who really and truly don't date Android users and want to ask them this; if you were on a date with someone who was awfully beautiful and caring, your type all over, you can see things becoming serious but then decided to change their phone to an Android, would you no longer pursue a love life with this individual?

dating
9

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.