Humans logo

How My Life Has Changed Since I Started on Vocal Media

Gratefulness is the theme here.

By Shamar MPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12
How My Life Has Changed Since I Started on Vocal Media
Photo by Fernando Brasil on Unsplash

March 2020 is when I first discovered Vocal Media. I had been dabbling in limbo, debating with myself whether I should publish or not. It had been years since I had been writing, we are talking silly childish poems or fantasy stories. I was worried people would laugh at me, would judge me and wouldn’t read my work but I was so totally wrong.

I managed to pluck up the courage to write on this platform with my first piece surrounding coronavirus. Quite honestly, I don't know where I would be if I didn't do it. Vocal Media has allowed me to get back in touch with my inner child, whom I thought I would never meet again, spend my time wisely and generate a second income.

The real shock happened in September 2020, when I came first place in the challenge Dream House. Honestly, I have no idea how I won but there we have it. I guess it was original compared to the other pieces because it was based on a virtual house. I’m nothing but grateful as this was the shove I needed to take my writing further and believe in myself.

A second shock happened in October 2020 when I had won ANOTHER challenge, Dinner Party. Again, nothing but gratefulness from my end! So that’s four figures I’ve got from writing and I was in the game just about six months. My mum was convinced that I was going to go places with my writing, and go places I am.

After my second win I decided to expand my writing and write for another platform called Medium, which many writers have heard of. Medium is the reason as to why I’ve hardly been writing on Vocal Media, the platform completed diverted my attention because I had to learn the ropes in order to make sure I could generate a small amount of income from it. I've been successful so far.

The only times I decided to write for Vocal Media is when there was a weekly challenge. Unfortunately, I haven’t won another since October despite my efforts and I’ve been very jealous and envious of other writers who have. But that’s okay, that’s just one of the bad parts about writing. Jealousy and envy are also my two major inner demons whom I’ve been battling my entire life, I’ve gotten better but I really need to sort out the negative energy.

In fact, I was becoming so bitter that I got rid of my Vocal+ membership to stop me from entering challenges and being disappointed at the results. What do I expect? There’s good competition out there!

Now I’m back. I’ve decided I’m going to start being at one with Vocal Media again. This platform is expanding at a fast rate and I want to be part of it.

A lot has changed on the platform since I started out here. You used to be paid $10 for a Staff Pick and now it’s $5 for a Top Story, a lot more people are writing daily and challenges are frequent and generous. $20,000 to write about a black book? That money would change my life!

Because of this platform I write every day. When I should be writing, I’m working. I write at the weekends and when I should be sleeping. I refuse to stop. There’s not one day that I don’t walk around the house thinking about topics I can talk about.

Furthermore, I’ve decided to begin freelance writing on Upwork. Unfortunately I haven’t got any contracts yet but I understand this is an extremely competitive field and it will require a lot of patience and experience. That’s okay, I’m here for the long run.

Thank you Vocal Media, this is just the beginning.

humanity
12

About the Creator

Shamar M

26. UK Based. Moans about everything (but in a fun way).

Follow me on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.