Humans logo

I Met Jodeci Once

The Associate. Not the group

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo Courtesy: Wordpoint.com

Photo Courtesy Madlyodd.com

Picture it

A Random Wednesday

2022

I head downstairs to throw out a coffee cup, I believe, when The Head Of Household stops me to tell me an amusing anecdote regarding childhood names.

It’s bad enough I found out that Prince’s childhood nickname was, in fact, “Skippy” earlier this week, so not to be outdone by The Head” I proceeded to tell him about the associate in a chain store which for legal purposes will remain nameless 🤷🏻‍♀️ I guess, I dunno. I’m assuming that’s a disclaimer 😬

Anyhow, anywho, how’s it goin? How are you?

Me, I’m so so today, I guess I’m fair like the weather cuz, not for nothin, Winter is an abusive, stalker ex that just won’t go away and apparently it’s the rainy season out chea, so I’m in the house waiting for my 🍬 delivery guy.

The fact that there is a such thing as an 🍬 delivery guy is dope af to me.

That was an unintentional pun. 😐

Seriously back to the associate at the chain store…

This was prior to November 2012 before my brain 🧠 did it’s 🤯 and I physically went to the store to “make groceries”.

Sidebar: I can’t remember who I stole the term “make groceries” from but I thought it was adorable so I tend to use it erry once in a while when it fits.

It fits now 😁

I’m in line at the register puttin my lil groceries on the belt as expeditiously as I could cuz anyone who knows MiMi… knows I hate shopping.

All kinds of shopping.

But anyhow, anywho, I believe I got all my lil groceries on the belt and of course I am HELPING the associate bag my groceries cuz people who don’t 🙄

That’s another blog for another day.

So as I believe all of my bag are in my cart I am ready to pay and that’s when I notice the associate who was helping me with my groceries. I look down at his name-badge and I lie to you not, the associate’s name is…

Video Courtesy: Gif Keyboard

Stop looking at my blog like that honest to God in Nevaeh #insider the young man’s name is…

Jodeci

So of course, since I am a woman of a certain age and cultural demographic, I couldn’t resist:

Me: So, is that your real name or are you tryna be funny?

Associate(knowingly chuckles and rolls eyes) No, it’s my name for real.

Me (sincerely curious) So, do you even like the group or do you refuse to listen to them…”

Jodeci: Ma’am I have no choice but to like them.

I don’t remember how the conversation ended, but I found myself feeling horrible for the young man named Jodeci for various reasons.

A. Unless he changes his name, he has to put it on all documents FOREVER…(not my lady) and be subjected to those kinda God awful word association jokes for the rest of his life.

B: How indecisive are his parents?

I’m just askin cuz there are FOUR members of Jodeci. The parents couldn’t just name him after their favorite? Was it an argument over Cedric & Joel? Or Donald & Dalvin? Like what made them just say eff it, “he’s gorgeous let’s name him after the whole damn group:Jodeci?

C: Does this poor child have siblings and Lord help me for even inquiring, but does he have a sister named Xscape or Shai?

Because not that you asked MiMi, but since it’s my blog, and I already wrote about the group Jodeci, let me put my two cents 🪙 in.

Even with the crack & Hennessy, Ki-Ci is my favorite member. But Ki-Ci’s real name is Cedric and in 1994 (ish) no one was naming their newborn baby boy Cedric.

Cedric is the old mechanic who lives up the road who never paved his driveway so when you go up there to get a free oil change, you get loose rocks stuck in your tires.

Hey hey, Mr. Cedric. How’s Ms. Elaine feelin?

Sidebar: All the Cedric’s I know end up takin up with a woman named Elaine who has a buncha ailments that act up when it rains and kids that don’t visit her.

It’s prolly because she named them Jodeci & Shai…

🤷🏻‍♀️ 🤣🤣🤣

#ISWISAIIWII

Until next time this blog was brought to you by a 🍬 Lemon 🍋 Sativa Stone chased by a Choco Disco with Strawberry 🍓 topping.

And I’m GOOT

Until next time,

✌🏼💜💨

Peace,Love, Exhale

humanity
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.