Humans logo

I made the decision to log 10,000 steps each day

My body was strengthened by walking that month

By sara trifPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
I made the decision to log 10,000 steps each day
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I made the decision to log 10,000 steps each day. I was tired of wearing tight clothes and putting on weight.

In my haste to get somewhere, I would sprint up a flight of stairs, which would leave me out of breath. It was humiliating. People would enquire about my wellbeing. My pulse rate would jump to 139 with only a quick dash up a flight of stairs.

It only became worse as time went on. I started to worry that my inactive habits and increased weight would have a long-term negative impact on my health.

Gaining weight was difficult.

I tried dieting, but my life was too stressful. I often fretted about how I would pay my payments each month. The extra weight stuck to my waist like glue. I was a potential health disaster.

I didn't recognize the overweight person I saw when I glanced in the mirror. I had to take action.

Then I learned that taking 10,000 steps per day can improve your health and, ideally, help you lose weight. One pound could be lost per week, according to some. I had nothing to lose.

My day's steps start

It was simple for me because my watch had a step counter. It kept track of every step and flight of stairs I took every day.

I had a typical meal and upped my daily step count to 10,000. When I was done, I discovered I was burning more than 300 calories each day while walking roughly 3 and a half miles.

I would frequently set my watch for exercise and continue walking for about 30 minutes to increase my steps. Normally, it would take me more than an hour to reach 10,000 steps every day. It would take a while because I don't walk that quickly.

I stopped driving to work and started walking instead. It was going to be fantastic. The weight was going to disappear from me.

My outcomes were promising.

It initially appeared to be functioning. I lost 2 pounds immediately. However, after supper one day in the second week, I indulged in some chips and almonds, and my weight immediately returned to its initial level.

And most of my measures remained the same. My hips have shrunk by half an inch. But I persisted in walking every day. I was adamant. I drank lots of water to replace fluids from the activity.

On days that reached 100 degrees, I paced back and forth inside the home. My cat gave me an odd look as though I were crazy. He would strike me as I passed by.

Frequently around ten o'clock in the evening, I would find that I had only taken 7,000 steps. I would be moving back and forth through the home so late at night. Although I would much prefer be doing something else, I continued.

I have a full-time job and write in the evenings. I was losing crucial writing time as a result of all this wandering. The weight loss would be worthwhile, I knew, though.

As I walked, I started to listen to music and podcasts. Without them, I'm not sure how I would have survived. Walking around your house quickly becomes monotonous.

It was easier to walk outside, but I frequently couldn't wait until evening and didn't feel secure doing so. As a result, I entered.

My outcomes

I want to start out by saying that I didn't diet when I walked the 10,000 steps. I consumed my usual meals and desserts. Maybe if I had also been trying to diet, my outcomes would have been different.

At the end of the month, I went on the scale. Only a few pounds had been lost. And if I consumed a salty snack in the afternoon, that figure would rise. In essence, I felt like I gained nothing.

But I made a fascinating discovery. I was no longer out of breath when I hurried up a set of stairs. And when I looked at my watch, it told me that month, when I walked, my heart rate was moving lower. My heart was able to move at its regular rhythm with less effort.

I should have walked more quickly. Then perhaps I would have lost some weight.

My body was strengthened by walking that month. I slept a lot better and my heart rate variability was higher.

Some people claim that if I had walked more quickly, I would have lost weight. But to be honest, I found all that walking to be unpleasant.

I am happy I did it.

I'm pleased that I logged 10,000 steps in one month.

I've quit aiming for 10,000 steps per day and will now try to maintain a daily step count of between 4,000 and 7,000. That works better with my timetable. Additionally, studies suggests that will help prevent dementia in old age. as oxygen is necessary for the healthy functioning of our brains.

I'm also including some easy exercises that a slim friend suggested performing at home. To lose a few additional pounds, I'll try to do cardiovascular exercise like brisk walking for a half-hour three times a week.

Would I advise a daily 10,000 step walk? If you don't work two sedentary jobs nonstop, the answer is yes. Or if you want to gain strength and stop getting out of breath. Before beginning any form of exercise, you should consult your doctor.

And if you can control yourself to diet and watch what you eat while you're moving quickly. I think you would drop some weight if it were the case. You have total authority.

featurehow tohumanityreview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.