Humans logo

I Know Why I Love You

I love you and I thank you for loving me.

By JacquelinePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I love you because you're kind.

I love you because you're funny.

I love you because you think I'm funny.

I love you because you're smart.

There's so many reasons why I love you.

I know I love you because it's easy to love you. You make me feel warm when it's below freezing in my mind. You feel like home to me.

You make me smile when I don't believe it's possible. On my darkest days, you don't interrogate me, you don't psychoanalyse me, you don't pester me, you hold me. You love me.

We started off as friends. You liked me, you asked me out. I pretended I didn't know it was a date. I said no. I was scared of you, me, us. We moved past it and stayed friends. You never knew I knew.

We started spending time together less, then we started spending time together more.

It was the one night, on the way back from going out with the rest of our friend group. It was just me and you on our walk home. You teased me, I teased you. You kissed me, I kissed you.

It scared me because this is not something I do. I didn't want to jeopardize our friendship, I didn't want to ruin the friend group. But I knew then and there that I was comfortable with you. I was safe with you.

Loving you feels like the best cup of warm tea running down my throat. Loving you smells like freshly cut grass. Loving you tastes like freshly baked bread. Loving you sounds like a kitten's purr. Loving you looks like the warmest colours of a sunset.

I know I love you because you're the only one I want to talk to. You make me want to hermit away from everyone, move to a foreign country, and live ina secluded hut with nothing but trees and the sound of birds.

I know I love you because you make my heart tickle. Your smile, your laugh, your breathing when you sleep. The way you look at babies, the way you look at puppies, the way you look at me when you don't think I notice.

I want to keep loving you and I want you to keep loving me.

You're passionate, you're heroic, you're loud and outgoing and radiant.

You make it easy to love you. You love my friends, you love my family, you love my hobbies, you love my music, you love my stories, you love my background, you love my history, you love my baggage, you love my flaws, you love me.

I don't know how I could possibly be so lucky to have you. You're so nice and kind to me without me deserving it. You make me so happy. You treat me well. You're my guardian angel.

I don't know how to tell you all this because I cannot express myself to you. I'm a depleted, sad, devestated person—yet here you are, picking me up from the endless pit of sorrow that I continuously live in.

My love for you is so profound and deep that these words don't even explain the half of it. I love you so much.

Thank you for loving me. Thank you for treating me like a princess. Thank you for blessing me with your presence and your love and your kindness. I will never know how to spoil you the way you spoil me but I'll try. I'll try with all I have because I love you.

I love you because you're kind.

I love you because you're funny.

I love you because you're smart.

I love you because you're my best friend.

I love you because you're my forever and always.

I love you because you are the best part of me.

I love you because you let me be a part of you.

I love you.

love
Like

About the Creator

Jacqueline

I'm not really a writer but when inspired, I write like crazy. Hopefully Vocal will help me get better :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.