Humans logo

I Am Now Home!!

It took a crisis to help me realize who I am, and Where I Belong..

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sitting to my Desk, Working on the Internet

👋🏾 There,

HOW IS IT GOING? ME??? Where do I begin?? The past half a decade has been to say the least a world wind. I had this cray idea💡of trying to share with the real world 🌍, the wonders I was experiencing on the World Wide Web 👨🏾‍💻. I attacked this journey with a few question ❓running thru my brain 🧠... Why has the world 🌍 not truly embraced this genius creation? Why are people stuck in the ways of the past? Why are they fighting change, especially when the change makes life so much easier than what they’re doing now? I can honestly say, after a five years journey, which rain thru community organizing, hangin out with political people, and countless hours of chats, and fierce confrontations, I am now just as confused 🤷🏾‍♂️ as I was when I first began.

The good thing about my experience is, No one can say I did not try. No one can say I am making 💩💩 up about people. I have spent nearly half of a decade, walking the streets, chatting on the front porches of not just Washington DC, Maryland, and Virginia also known as the DMV. I have heard every word of concern. I have witnessed ever action, both the ones some found favorable and the others many rejected🙅🏾‍♂️.. I will confess, I for a moment took it personally. Like how dare these people attack me? All I am trying to do is help! For HALF A DECADE, I have not asked one person for a brown penny. THAT IS RIGHT, DO NOT SCRATCH THEM

👁EYES👁 OF YOURS.. I for five years made NOT ONE☝🏾SINGLE 💵..

It is crazy looking back at how much I did. For eighteen months, the conversation was about being physically active. July 2018, I was joined by one of the council persons here as we lead a group of mostly AFRICAN AMERICANS on a exercise tour of the CITY OF NORFOLK. We walked the Elizabeth River Trail, a ten point five mile oasis with a multi mission statement. For some it a bike path, for others there are little pockets of peace of tranquility, best for morning, or evening meditations OR that hot Yoga?? Then it is for the purpose by which I used it. To both walk and learn of the history, GOOD AND BAD of Norfolk..

Please allow me a few lines of clarity. I hope no one concludes this time of reading feeling I am not upset with anything accomplished here in Norfolk. Nor do I wish for anyone to feel I am upset with the awesomesauce people who have at various points joined me on this journey. It has been one amazing ride, From the cradle to the Nursing Home, we taken this magical ride, but as we now know, even Disneyland has to at some point close down. I have fought it, just as hard as Vince McMahon is to save his precious WrestleMania, but the opposition is just to great..

COVID-19, just like most of you made me feel some kind of way. I sat struggling with what was hitting me, I like a baby 👶🏾 spent a few days, well let me go on head and be real.. It was close to weeks, squirming emotional thru these uncertain times. The world 🌎 begin talking about this concept known as SOCIAL DISTANCING, ya know STAYING HOME, unless its extreme in which case STAY SIX FEET AWAY FROM EACH OTHER..

The world looks different geographically, so I can’t really say what your social distancing requirements are. BUT here in the state of Virginia, we are stuck in the house 🏡 until the first half of JUNE, which means EVERYONE who said the INTERNET was not important, those who swore they would die before they would need the INTERNET, those who criticized me and others who decided they were going to make their living on THE INTERNET, that is nice for no work they said. I am going to stop 🛑 there before this turns into a giant i told you so, because that is not my point.

This crisis will soon come to an end. Most will find away to return back to the lives they once knew, but not me. I am the internet guy, and I will be here waiting. WAITING for the next time you need to swing through for support, for laughter, the next time you need a place to escape the noise, I will be here waiting for the next time the real world 🌍 ceases 🛑 to make sense. I will be here waiting for the next time you just need an untouched friend.

Until the Next Time We can Chat. From Me and Mine, Unto You and Yours!!!

LATTERZ!!!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.