Humans logo

All Men To Back?

I believe we can’t talk progression without a conversation about TRUE Equality.

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Nikia and Me, Biden Rally 2020

I am sitting here trying to think 🤔 of a way I a thirty five year old black man could have a conversation about women. I thought what if I write this like a true journalist would? What If I removed myself from the conversation; making it all about facts. That should do it, stick to the facts, which someone can argue, accompanied by individuals some would hate. Then I thought, What If I just wrote a drawn out historical dissertation? Nah, THAT WOULD NOT WORK.. Most of, or dare I say all the my information is coming from sources I cannot prove, therefore breeding arguments, I do not wish to have. So I found myself half way thru, pausing and hitting the delete button without release. I was bored writing it, I knew you guys would get bored reading it, so why have us all bored? I know it is a crazy question no one can answer, which is why that blog is now 💩💩💩 IN MY TRASH!! But I still wanna have the conversation, So I guess I will just go from the gut.

Wednesday MARCH 4, 2020, the day which will live in feminisms infamy. This day rivals with Wednesday November 9, 2016, which both rival Wednesday July 12, 1972. Wednesday March 4, 2020, the day when the senator from Massachusetts, Elizabeth Warren realized, the time had come for her to step aside. It was a solemn day, as many struggled through the reality of what was about to take place. The next twenty four hours seemed like hell, for women I know, who once again thought they had a shot at this nations top prize, only to again have it end in defeat. I remember the next day, MARCH 5, calling my homie Nikia, you could feel the hurt as she answered the phone. I knew this hurt, I had felt it, although for different reason before. It was the hurt, I and sixty five million Americans felt Wednesday November 9, 2016, when we watched, stunned, as Hillary Clinton, the first female to EVER win a major parties nomination, was defeated. It was a blow for me, but even more for people like Nikia. Forty Four Years earlier, women, more importantly women of color faced yet another kick in the gut. Wednesday July 12, 1972, the day Shirley Chisholm, the first woman of color to run for president, lost her bid at the Democratic nomination, which sends us back to one hundred years before that, when Victoria Woodhull, the first woman EVER took a shot at the top spot.

I am not going to try to see the world through Nikia, or any woman’s eyes. Every woman I know, is strong, talented, and capable of showing us themselves who they are, and what they see, but I do want to address what I see.

Our republic is one of, if not the greatest system in the world. And at the same time it is arguably one of the most sexist, racist, and discriminatory places on planet earth. These women were all targets. Dare I say most, if not all of their campaigns were sabotaged, ONLY because they were women, but I cannot prove that, so let me stick to what I can. I admit, I dismissed Elizabeth Warren. So much so, I didn’t even bother to look up her platform. I voted for Hillary Clinton, but that was only because I did not want Donald Trump. Which begs me to consider! Are these women qualified? Did they have what it took to be president of these states united? That question I doubt we will ever know, but one thing is for certain, they are gone, and at least for me, I know why.

I WAS scared.. Not of Hillary Clinton, nor of Elizabeth Warren. I was scared of the radical left. We gotta face it, there is one lingering question no one can truly answer. What will happen to us dudes? Ya see many of these women rights groups, want nothing more than to make men house wives, the second in command, and dare I say some would love it if we were exterminated.

I get it. This attitude stems from years of hurt. This comes from a lifetime of rejection, being put down, beat down, emotionally drained, and creatively boxed it. You want to be heard, you desire to have you shot. You are frustrated, and fed up with being screwed. I get you, but somehow we gotta find away to do this together! Somehow we gotta together go 🖕🏾🖕🏾 them jack offs who held down not just women, but blacks, natives, anyone who threatened them. BUT, Regardless of all the times all minority communities has been screwed, we gotta reach out, grabbing each other by the hand, and somehow progress together.

You are so freaking talented, but so am I. Each of us created to do something awesomesauce here on planet earth. I don’t want your spot. I don’t need your spot. I don’t need whatever it is, you’ve been created for, I don’t want to get in your way. I want you more than anything to score, to live all you can, achieve everything thing you desire, all I ask is that you want the same for me....

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.