Humans logo

How Your Small Acts Keep You in People's Memory

The extraordinary power of ordinary moments to inscribe indelible marks on our memory

By I. R. PathakPublished 20 days ago 5 min read
1
How Your Small Acts Keep You in People's Memory
Photo by A A on Unsplash

I am always curious to know how somebody can leave a long-lasting impression on those whom they interact with.

In our day-to-day life, we encounter complexities of life in a variety of situations. I remember the extraordinary power of ordinary moments to inscribe indelible marks on our memory.

Let me share some instances from my day-to-day life; each of them narrates how we can make an impact that lasts a lifetime.

The Vegetable Vendor Asked, ‘How’s Your Day Going On, Sir?”

Created on Ideogram

It was Sunday morning when I visited the vegetable market. After taking a round of the market, I stopped at my vendor. There were many customers in the queue. I placed my order.

His assistant started weighing and packing my order. He asked, ‘How’s your day going on, sir?”

His smile was warm; his eyes expressed genuine interest.

I responded promptly, “Fine, thanks,” but his question echoed in my mind.

On my way home, I thought about the polite conversation with the vegetable vendor.

The interaction was brief, yet his sincerity left an impression. It reminded me of the importance of recognizing the people we meet. We often underestimate the power of a smile or a kind word in brightening someone’s day, but the impact can be great.

That vegetable vendor left an impression that taught me to carry positivity in my interactions to make each meeting a chance to brighten someone’s day.

The Gentleman Said, “Let Me Get That for You,”

Created on Ideogram

A few weeks later, I was in a busy supermarket, struggling to reach a box of cereal on a tall shelf.

An extra tall gentleman, probably in his sixties, came to my rescue.

He said, “Let me get that for you,” with a grin that stretched across his mature face.

As I thanked him, he replied, “No problem at all. We all need a helping hand sometimes.”

This simple act of kindness stuck in my thoughts long after I left the store. It taught me the value of selflessness, of being there for others, even in small ways.

His gesture reminds me that we can make an enduring impression by being thoughtful and helpful.

These visibly petty instances add to shaping our character and influencing the world.

A Young Girl, No Older Than Five, Chasing Butterflies

Created on Ideogram

The incident I share with you happened on an evening in the park. I sat on a bench, engrossed with a story on my cellphone, when I noticed a young girl, no older than five, chasing butterflies with sheer delight.

Her father sat on a nearby bench, satisfactorily watching her every move. As I observed this father-daughter pair, I realized that the little girl was not only chasing butterflies; she was capturing hearts.

Her infectious laughter, her unfettered enthusiasm, her curiosity–all of it was leaving a mark.

Passersby couldn’t help but smile at the sight, and strangers became friends, if only for a moment.

This girl’s innocence and joy underscored that we can make a lasting impression by accepting the virtue of the present, by living fully in the moment, and by sharing our happiness with others.

Mrs Dutta’s Message, “You Matter, and I Care.”

Created on Ideogram

One evening, I attended a charity event organized by a reputed NGO at a local stadium. Among the volunteers was an aged woman named Mrs. Dutta.

She had been dedicating her time to social service for decades, and it showed in the radiant kindness that arose from her.

Mrs. Dutta’s actions were not for recognition or praise but genuine acts of love and compassion.

She talked to the attendees, asked about their lives, and offered support.

Her unspoken message was simple: “You matter, and I care.”

It was indeed convincing evidence of the fact that we can leave a long-lasting impression by being selfless and empathetic, by giving of ourselves to those in need.

The Janitor Said, “I Take Pride in Keeping It Clean.”

Created on Ideogram

Perhaps the most profound lesson came from an unexpected source, a school janitor when I was the principal.

One day, I found myself alone in a quiet hallway after a parents’ meeting. The cleaning staff was humming a tune as he went about his work.

He noticed me and said, “Sir, you know, this place may not be glamorous, but I take pride in keeping it clean. It’s my way of contributing to the learning environment for these kids.”

His words stayed with me long after I left the school. This humble staff’s dedication taught me it’s not the job that defines us but the passion and care we put into it.

We can leave a lasting impression by taking pride in our work, no matter how trivial, and by understanding that every role contributes to the greater good.

The Takeaway

Life is all about these moments that make everything worthwhile. These things that happen in our everyday lives show that we all have the power to make a lasting impression.

Being genuinely kind, selfless, present, empathetic, and proud of our actions helps us make a lasting impact on others.

As I keep going, I realize that how we affect others isn’t just about big things. It’s the small things that leave a lasting impact and shape our memories.

So, take a second to consider your flashes and think about how you can leave a long-lasting impression.

Disclaimer: The original version of this story with different title was published on another platform. Link to original version: https://medium.com/the-hub-pub/how-can-you-leave-a-long-lasting-impression-65aee850f576

humanity
1

About the Creator

I. R. Pathak

Educationist by career, writer-poet by passion, thinker by nature, humorous by habit. Love to share thoughts and experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.