Humans logo

How to Find the Spark in Your Life

Let's be light and the source for what we want to do, and when we want to do it.

By Gabriel Sohn-HuntPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
How to Find the Spark in Your Life
Photo by Nathan Bingle on Unsplash

---

Freedom

Freedom is an important thing to every human, but it seems more and more that our freedom is reliant on over amounts of working, and trading TOO much time and effort for money. I know personally, I struggle with understanding the world around me, the economics that go into it, but I want to learn. I want to have the opportunity to create content that helps others, so we can all improve as a society.

My journey and realization of wanting to become a better human being stems from a lot of mistakes and actions I've done in the past, and a lot of things I have seen affect other people. One moment for me really had opened my eyes and had shown me that there's more that goes on in the world, and that I am not just a thing that is right between the ol' noggin of mine.

The Light…

Late at night, around a few months ago, when the night was too dark for me to see naturally, I had sat outside with my overhead light. I was so interested in Seneca's "Shortness of Life", a book which goes over some existential problems we have as humans, and more importantly, how we use our lives. As I was reading, and becoming hypnotized and entranced by the book, I slowly began to melt into the words he was saying, rather than anything outside of my environment.

Seneca goes straight to the point, no baloney.

Fortune, or Death (as she has many names) is out and sees you at all times. Fortune favors not the bold, but rather no one.

Fortune will take you swiftly, or it may take you by the hand very slowly, death is all we avoid. So it is as this; avoiding death is like avoiding a blade, a very, very, sharp blade. We can either take life and offer ourselves, our egos, up to the worlds, and be as vulnerable as possible.

This would be the equivalent to one clean slice of the blade upon the neck, although it was everything, it was the least painful thing that could have happened.

As Seneca puts it, if we allow life to harden us, in the sense we shelter ourselves, and become less vulnerable, more harmful, destructive, it is the same as the blade, finding every part of you that is not vital. Fortune will tear you apart for not obeying the rules. You will slowly bleed out, with nothing but your own dignity to keep you in tact. (No real blades, all metaphorical phrases to give clarity.)

As I read this topic, I couldn't help but boil in the fact that reality was slapping me in the face with the actuality of death not being arbitrary. I in my own mind had not faced Fortune before, her true fear, and there are many reasons as to why this may happen, but for another article.

The boiling teapot of my emotions was drastically spilling over mentally, and as I freaked out and slammed the book shut on the table beside me, the light above me immediately flickered, in on-off fashion for about 3 seconds.

This had not only solidified the fact that this knowledge and wisdom from the great philosophers and existentialist should be studied further for myself, but had also sparked an interest in me that still freaks me out to this day.

The most inspiring, creative people for centuries, had stories of things that captivated them, the pattern I have seen in the lives over the many stories I read, especially from Robert Greene, is that Life will call you to your passion.

Robert Greene eloquently lays out the stories of some of these wonderful people.

Sir Isaac Newton being one of them, had his "aha" moment upon observing an apple fall from a tree, boinking him right on the head. He then had developed his theory of gravity.

---

Become Aware

Albert Einstein had began very early in his thoughts experiments, and was fascinated by the theory of relativity, and the speed of light. Einstein had found his spark, by observing the movement of the needle of a compass at the age of 5, he had noticed a whole world of forces he could not see that was impacting his reality.

Eventually this led him down the path of who we know him as today, one of the most famous and remarked physicists of our world. It is almost important to note that in his life, he as well as many other successful people, had to break the mold of what was possible.

It got me thinking, "Wow, if books really have this sort of impact, the knowledge and wisdom of others, this is something people should know about and discover." More and more I find it more important to become vastly aware of the economy around me, the materials the world makes up, and how everything flows together.

I in no way find myself to be an expert in any topic, but if there is anything I could do it would to be others help find their path. It is something I'm trying to find more myself everyday.

What is your spark, what is that one incident or few, that have changed an aspect in your life?

---

Conclusion: Become more Aware

The consensus islook into your life, and see what has had the most emotional impact on you.

What synchronicities have been placed into your life that you are aware of now, and how can you use those to look even deeper?

Find the thing that has had the most impact on you, and if you focus and share value with the world, you'll find the world open up to you in new ways.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.