Humans logo

How The Fear Of Missing Out Almost Got Me Burned Out

My Journey to Letting Go of TikTok.

By Zondra Dos AnjosPublished 6 months ago 5 min read
4
Image generated by the author on leonardo.ai

Today, social media almost dictates the rules, and the fear of missing out (FOMO) can be a powerful force.

I will share with you in this article my experience of 3 years on the platform.

From 2020, my businesses as a day trader, professional coach, and psychic were growing, and then suddenly, I bumped into TikTok.

I am a 41 y.o. I am a lady in the psychic business, and I can tell you that it was difficult to grow on the platform.

In my 3 years journey on TikTok, striving to grow on this platform, something unexpected happened that made me think of the actual value of my efforts and the platform’s valid values.

By Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Now, I am not a social media expert, but I understood enough to see when my content was not getting distributed anymore.

In January 2020, I started the channel, and I was blown away by how fast it grew.

I was so excited and motivated that I thought: “Now I am going to grow a great community.”

For a year, I put my heart into that platform, making truthful content nearly five times a day, interacting with live videos, and even pulling some cards for random people for free.

I was motivated to build a profile that wouldn’t play with people’s anxiety and that would help people to find their truth and get out of the situations they have been dwelling on for a long time.

The engagement was excellent; my videos got distributed fast, and I attained thousands very fast, and then, something changed.

By the end of 2022, when I opened my app, like I used to every day.

By Solen Feyissa on Unsplash

Currently, the content that was popping up on my screen was different from the kind of content I had chosen in the first place when I installed the app on my phone.

They were sad content, people crying, girls dancing in a very sexy way, and people eating like there was no tomorrow.

Anyway, I started to make more and more content and was not reaching half the audience I was going to before.

When I did my research on other psychics with significant accounts on the platform, I saw that the content was artificial and triggered people’s anxiety.

By Ioana Cristiana on Unsplash

Let me give you an example:

Your question to a psychic is if your ex is coming back.

The psychic that is triggering your anxiety purposely will say in their readings that your ex will come back even if the cards say the contrary, so you can keep coming back to buy readings from them.

To me, seeing psychics like this was sad and strange because I follow a spiritual code of ethics, live in the [Buddhist Etic of Śīla](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhist_ethics#:~:text=Śīla in Buddhism is one,virtue%2C moral discipline and precept.) and I can’t lie at all.

Usually, in my readings, if my cards say so, I say to the customers right away that the person won’t come back, so they are released from this situation.

In my naivety, I continued to insist on making the content daily, believing that I could bring a true message to those people there. I noticed that the way some people behave on the platform is wild, like everywhere else in the social media world.

By Brittany Bendabout on Unsplash

The anonymity mask the internet gives people makes some of them behave so they would never have the courage to act in person.

I started to feel exhausted stressed, and couldn’t sleep well.

One morning, I was going to the gym after a late night of making life on TikTok, and then it hit me: “TikTok is making me tired; this is what is draining my energy.”

Until then, I was aware of the draining of energy but thought: “Let me try a bit more; maybe I am the one who needs to do more.” but hey, I was doing much already.

TikTok almost got me into a spell.

After this insight, I started to be more aware of the density of the platform. I noticed that every time I went there, my heart accelerated a bit.

Then I realized that I was reacting with the FOMO to all the content creation I was doing there.

By visuals on Unsplash

Almost every time I was recording a video there, my focus started to go to the “How many views am I going to get?”, “Will the platform distribute my content?” I see today that the focus was wrong.

This was when I decided to post once in a while.

I deleted the platform and returned after a week. Nothing was happening.

Then, I started to prioritize other things in my life, and today, I only let the videos be there because I concluded that, unfortunately, TikTok has become a toxic culture platform.

I am grateful for my time on TikTok and my past self, who really put the energy out there to create and put plans into action; with this post, I released the TikTok story that was stuck in my throat for a long time.

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Conclusion

I learned that when things are meant to happen, they happen, and they flow effortlessly.

Don’t put all your energy into a platform or business you intuitively feel is not working.

Avoid the fear of missing out and understand that the people who are meant to resonate with your energy and watch your content will find their way to you.

Prioritize your mental health and good sleep so you can produce better.

Don’t compare yourself with another content creator. Remember that your path is yours only.

Thank you for reading the full article; feel free to interact with it as much as you want.

I would love to respond to your comment.

Follow me for more articles like this.

advice
4

About the Creator

Zondra Dos Anjos

It’s a pleasure to meet you.

My Stories are about Astrology, Motivation, Spirituality, Stoicism, Self Development, Success and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic6 months ago

    I gave up on TikTok too. Partly because I was sick of giving so much effort for so little impact. But mostly because I discovered my love for writing - and my desire to do more of that!

  • Kindred Soul6 months ago

    Love this read. Thank you for sharing...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.