Humans logo

How Incurable Disease Forced Me to Stop Acting for Years - Chidi Mokeme

Chidi Mokeme opens up about absence

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Nollywood actor Chidi Mokeme is the man of the moment after a dazzling, career making performance on the latest Netflix hit series, "Shanty Town". Chidi Mokeme's role as Scar is definitely bringing on a renaissance for the actor, and with all of this new buzz around him, the big question on many people's mind is: where has Chidi Mokeme been?

Chidi isn't at all a new actor. Chidi Mokeme ruled our screens for a lot of the early 2000s especially and has taken on a number of diverse roles. But then, after the movie, '76, it looked like the actor just dropped off the surface of the earth. Now, Chidi Mokeme is explaining why and the reason is a lot sadder and darker than anybody thought. Here is what Chidi Mokeme said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During his latest interview with Rubbin' Minds on Channels Television, Chidi Mokeme was asked "Before 'Shanty Town' and 'The Therapist' last year, it looks like you took a very long break from the industry. Did you take a break, or where people just not seeing your movies? Because for a long time, you were off our screens" He responded saying:

CHIDI MOKEME: So, I'm going to be giving you all the scoop. Yeah, I've been on the scene for a while but I was actually off the scene for a while. After we did the promotional tour for '76, and we went to the Toronto International Film Festival, I will say something that I haven't actually said anywhere else. After that, as we were preparing to go to the trip to UK for the British International Film Festival, I came down with something called Bell's Palsy. So if you know Bell's Palsy, it was the first time I was hearing it, Bell's Palsy is something that it comes like a stroke and it sort of affects one side of your face, and sort of gives you a droop. And you know, this was something that the doctors said was incurable. They had no cure cuz they didn't know what causes it so they didn't know how to treat it. So for an actor, if you're come down with something that affects your face, you can imagine what I've been going through. I thought it was something I could move around with, I tried to come for the Lagos premiere of '76 at the time, but the attention was sort of focused on the face rather than the premiere and the things that were happening at the time. So I knew that no, it wasn't something I could work with. So I said okay, I will take time off to try and go sort out that problem that needed my face to be in top shape. So in the meantime, I just focused on doing my other business, while I focused on trying to get myself back.

Chidi Mokeme in latest project

Well, we love to see Chidi Mokeme back and doing well. His performance in "Shanty Town" was truly a masterclass in acting. What do you think about what Chidi Mokeme said, and what do you think about all the actor has been going through behind the scenes? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.